Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Archive for December 26, 2010

Seeds Of Change

Well, we’re drawing close to the end of another year, which makes me wonder what changes the new year will bring? I’ve often said that I feel like I’ve been very blessed … my family is healthy and  happy (for the most part) and the older I get the more those things matter. This year has brought some losses and gains. Yesterday I spent some time reflecting on the loss of Dozer, who was born on Christmas day and would have been fourteen. We sure miss the little man. Yesterday I gave Aldo a couple of framed photos of Dozer that I took in the fall, shortly before his death. I wasn’t sure if Aldo was ready for the pictures, but he seemed to like them. Not much reaction there, though. Big surprise, that. (Not)

 

It was nice getting together with Aldo’s family. Mary and Steve arrived from different destinations at different times. I took lots of pictures so I’ll have plenty of people pictures to tinker around with for a change. I’m not practiced at taking pictures indoors or photos of people. More stuff to work on I guess. Dinner was it’s usual bedlam, with Mary having to leave to go get Steve at the airport right when we were ready to sit down and eat. Steve’s flight had been delayed in Atlanta. By the time they got back the wine had been flowing pretty liberally and the level of noise had risen exponentially. Everyone sat back down at the table and we managed to keep the conversation down to a dull roar while they ate. We soon had to head out …. the animals were anxiously waiting back home to be fed.

 

Today we’re supposed to get “The Big Blizzard.” Good grief. It’s December in New England and they’re making it sound like we’ll be totally incapacitated by snow. With almost 50% of the population either unemployed or on winter vacation I have to think we have the biggest work force ever available for snow removal. It will be interesting to see what happens and how things play out here.

 

 

Nov. 22, 2010. 4:58 PM EST.

Canon EOS 7D

ISO; 160, 90mm, 1/20 sec, f/5.0

Lens: Tamron  SP Di 90mm AF 2.8