Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Archive for December 14, 2010

Had To Be There

This was an attempt to capture something I knew would be tough to get. For reasons yet unknown to me, it’s very difficult to shoot frost. On this particular morning we’d had a heavy dew followed by low predawn temperatures; a perfect combo for a frost-kissed landscape. When I went out with the dogs I was greeted by a scene that was full of contrasts I could see with my eyes, but that I knew would be next to impossible to capture with my camera. Still,  I had to try. I moved from one place to another hoping to get just the right angle and light to make a few of the frost-painted treetops pop, but I was unable to reproduce what my eyes saw. It didn’t help that the sun was trying to break through the dense cloud cover, making the sky appear colorless, yet bright at the same time.  In the end, I had several pictures from different locations, though only a few revealed a fraction of the beauty I saw that morning.

Dec. 10, 2010. 8:30 AM. EST

Canon EOS 7D

ISO: 100, 1/400 sec, f/5.6, 20mm

Lens: Tamron Di II. SP 10-24mm 3.5-4.5