Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Keeping Our Cool

untitled-0487

(Hazer, age 10.8 yrs.)

*

It’s hot here. So hot that my dogs aren’t even thinking about going outside. They lay around all day on the cool tile and hardwood floors and when I open the door to let them out, they just stand there looking at me like I’m nuts. I’m going to take my cue from them and stay inside the next couple of days. Oh, I still have to stagger out to water the gardens and take care of the horses, but there isn’t much I can do for the horses except feed and water them. The horses don’t like the heat any more than the dogs, but I can’t bring them inside to escape this inferno. I would if I could. I wonder if the same animal rights activists who think barns should be heated in the winter think they should be air conditioned in the summer? Don’t get me started ….

2 responses

  1. It’s back to 95 degree weather here with a hot, dry wind and a return to the Devil’s blast furnace here on the west coast. Fortunately, it cools off into the low 50s overnight, and we don’t have east coast humidity to deal with. I think the most important thing is access to sufficient shade and water. I’m watching the neighbor’s Shetlands preferring to graze in the hot sun when they have a nice, big shady apple tree to park under, as well as a barn! Go figure…

    There are always the reports of someone leaving animals in a hot car with the windows rolled up in this weather, no matter where one lives. That’s a horrible way to go.

    July 19, 2015 at 8:00 PM

    • You’ve been getting much worse heat for longer than us! We always get a couple of rough weeks in July and August, but it usually breaks and returns to normal pretty quickly. We’ve been exceptionally dry this year though, which is always a concern too. A few rainy days would be a welcome change!

      July 20, 2015 at 9:59 AM

Leave a Reply

