Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

That’ll Do

Dogs2064-1

Tanglewood’s Who Dunnit Again

“Hazer”

11-16-04 – 3-30-16

*

I don’t know what the last eleven years of my life would have been like if I hadn’t had Hazer. For sure, it would have been a lot quieter. Simpler. Definitely a whole lot easier. But it also would have been dull. Dull in a way that I can only look back at now and see how all the chaos, calamity and constant challenge was exactly what I needed at the time.

Hazer was never a walk in the park: Complex, smart, quirky and both biddable and independent, Hazer was a handful. He never wanted to be cuddled, fussed over or loved on, but he was always with you, right by your side or under your feet. He was my consummate hiking partner, barn chore buddy and yard companion, and while the other two dogs were always eager to be off doing their own thing, Hazer wanted nothing more than to hang out with me while I worked around the farm. No matter where I was, I only had to look up or turn around and there he’d be, quietly watching and ready for anything.

There’s so much I’d like to share about our last few years, even our last few days together, but the pain and sadness keep getting in the way. Maybe at some point I’ll be able to pen something more memorable, but for now it’s all I can do to just look at his picture without getting lost deep inside my head.

Well done my beautiful, big red dog. Well done.

*

IMG_2768

6 responses

  1. Very sorry for your loss.

    April 10, 2016 at 10:59 PM

    • Thank you

      April 11, 2016 at 9:03 AM

  2. I am sorry for your loss, Cheryl. May old Hazer rest in peace, and live on in your heart and mind.

    April 11, 2016 at 12:48 AM

    • Thank you

      April 11, 2016 at 9:03 AM

  3. So sorry.

    April 11, 2016 at 12:07 PM

    • Thank you

      April 11, 2016 at 5:56 PM

Leave a Reply

