Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Things That Matter

IMG_5690

*

Having animals should teach you something about growing old. The closer Hazer gets to the edge of his life expectancy the more we’re just trying to have fun and make every minute count. It’s not that he doesn’t annoy me sometimes. He does. Make no mistake about that! But I’m trying to overlook the stuff that old age tends to exaggerate. Like his propensity to want to control things beyond his control, and his tendency to shriek at  every little thing. Even imaginary things.

It’s ironic that a dog who in all his long years never wanted affection or attention, now seeks it unashamedly. I used to think that would make parting company easier (when the time comes) and then he goes and has a change of heart toward me these last few months. Does he sense his time is growing short or did he just give up the fight to be a bastard to the bitter end? I’d like to think he had a change of heart, that all the years of trying to break through his tough exterior actually had an effect. Either way, I’m enjoying it. Soaking it up like a sponge. It’s nice to be able to touch your dog without him giving you the stink eye and moving away, or sneak in a snuggle and a kiss …. as long as I don’t linger very long.

Hazer, you’ve always had my heart, albeit from the other side of a glass wall. My only regret is that it took age and infirmity for you to break through the barrier. Here’s to making every last minute count.

6 responses

  1. Great picture and thanks for sharing. I have a 2 1/2 golden retriever, who can be a pain in the …,. However, he loves to be petted and touched – he is almost needy in it. Your words help remind me to put things into a good perspective. Carwyn sends his regards to Hazer.

    February 2, 2016 at 8:51 AM

    • I’ve enjoyed the pictures of your Golden and Carwyn certainly seems quite sweet! We have friends who breed and raise Goldens and you’re right, they are relentless people-pleasers. Sometimes I’m almost jealous of their happy-go-lucky dogs, but being aloof, standoffish and serious is the normal temperament of many herding breeds. Not all, but enough so it’s not that unusual that my male is the type who wants to demonstrate his loyalty and affection by doing a job rather than snuggling. My female is very affectionate, but due to her camera shyness I don’t share many pictures of her here. Thanks for sharing, and give your boy a hug for us!

      February 2, 2016 at 1:08 PM

  2. The description that you give of Hazer and his reactions to love and affection remind me of some people that I know. The ones that crave it but don’t know quite what to do with it when they receive it. The awkward bunch they are. Misunderstood. They love differently and hope that you know they love you, but gosh darn it, don’t make them say it. Yea yea yea they say when you offer a hug and kind words.. They hope you know.. Hazer knows and I know you do too. Lucky boy..

    February 2, 2016 at 4:51 PM

    • You’re right! There are plenty of people like Haze: Gruff. Serious. All about work and no play. Hard to love and even harder to understand. I think we get the dog (and people) we need. I’ve had to chew on that for 11 years and I’m still not sure I understand it. Thanks for adding your take on this mystery.

      February 3, 2016 at 9:16 AM

  3. Sniffle.

    February 5, 2016 at 6:52 AM

  4. You take me back 25 years to my first cattle dog. Her love was just as fierce and uncomfortable. And in the end, softened to an unbearable sweetness. Ack. I lovehatelove these dogs.

    February 8, 2016 at 11:13 AM

Leave a Reply

