Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Three Steps Back

IMG_4964_5_6_tonemapped

*

As per my previous post, Dharla was moved to a boarding barn in the beginning of November. Unfortunately, due to a crazy, mixed-up schedule, she had to come back home ten days later for various vet & chiro appointments. These were appointments that had been scheduled previously, but had to be postponed until November. Since I wasn’t about to pay two trip changes (Really? A second charge to drive 2.5 miles to a second location?), I decided to ride her home. Naturally, once the appointments were over the weather wouldn’t cooperate for me to ride her the half hour ride back, so we lost a little over a week of training. Not a great start.

To say we didn’t start off on the right foot would be an understatement. Oh, she settled in OK the first time there, but it’s been one headache after another since she went back. I won’t go into the details here, but it should suffice to say that basic people skills and an attempt to make sure the customer is (somewhat) happy should be the core of any successful business. And when it’s not? Shit happens.

Dharla will be coming home after we get our fully paid month of training and board. We have nine days to “make up” but I’m not even sure if we’ll stay long enough to fulfill that. (Since I’ll ride her home, our departure is weather dependent.) My unhappiness at the barn has nothing to do with my trainer and it pains me that circumstances beyond her control will force us to move on. It ain’t her fault, but I’m too old to waste another minute of my time or spend another dime at a barn where there are so many glaring issues.

It isn’t always easy for me to recognize when something isn’t working.  Since I hate the idea of conflict, I’ll do just about anything to avoid it. But age highlights the fact that time is precious. More than ever I feel like  I don’t have the luxury of just waiting to see if issues will work themselves out. Nor am I willing to put up with circumstances that, two decades ago probably wouldn’t have bothered me a bit. Comfort. Safety. Camaraderie. Those things are important to me now and if they’re lacking … I’m gone.

3 responses

  1. I have long suspected I would be a terrible boarder after keeping my horses at home.

    December 3, 2015 at 12:40 PM

    • Yup! Ironically, I was rough boarding, so basically I was there taking care of my own horse every single day, pretty much like i would at home. (In fact, I spent more time there every day taking care of one horse than I typically do taking care of three horses at home!) All they had to do was turn her in and out, and give her the food I’d provided. I did everything else. (Blankets, stall, etc.) But apparently what I do every single day at my own farm is 100% wrong because the barn owner seemed to find fault with everything I did. And always AFTER the fact. I mean, I can deal with someone being picky, but for Christ’s sake tell me what you expect beforehand. Unfortunately, she gets off on nit-picking because she never once gave me the low-down on how they want stuff done there. I guess I’m supposed to be a mind-reader? No matter. I’m not going to pay someone to criticize me every time they see me. I can do that myself. 😉

      December 4, 2015 at 8:57 AM

  2. Weird.

    December 4, 2015 at 10:18 PM

Leave a Reply

