Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Spring, Where Art Thou?

IMG_5744 copy_ 2_ 3_tonemapped

*

Things are melting, refreezing, then melting again. We have lots of icy morning paths, frozen piles of manure and a light skin of ice on the water tank. I’ve smartened up. Instead of trying to pick the paddock I only clear a few areas to put out the hay. After the sun has warmed the surface of the ground I go back out and finish the job more thoroughly.  All but one large patch of stubborn snow has slid off the roof of the barn, making it less dangerous for me to be out there with horses who bolt and run at the slightest notion that the sky is falling. This has been our first winter in the new barn and I’m still getting used to the ups and downs of the environment. The snow-sliding-off-the-roof drama is a new experience for me and I’ve had to cultivate an awareness of where I am in proximity to the horses when the conditions are ripe for a snow slide. It’s a whole different kind of learning curve.

We have to wait until the sun has softened the frozen landscape, but by  mid-afternoon I can get the dogs out to play a little ball and Frisbee, after which Hazer would be content to find a sunny spot and just curl up in the snow. But with not much to do in the way of chores our time outside is still limited. We all have a bad case of cabin fever. The gardening catalogs that keep jamming my mailbox are no help.

5 responses

  1. We have had warmer than normal winter weather – it was 74 yesterday. Not a flake of snow all winter…

    March 10, 2015 at 12:43 PM

    • Oh my! A temp above 45 would throw me into a complete and total tizzy! Lucky you! 🙂

      March 10, 2015 at 3:58 PM

  2. Love the picture, brilliant photo, wish we could send a little spring your way!

    March 13, 2015 at 3:03 PM

    • Thank you! I wish you could send a little spring here too!

      March 14, 2015 at 7:43 AM

  3. Awesome photos. Thank You.

    June 5, 2015 at 6:48 AM

Leave a Reply

