Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Gimp On

IMG_0503

Hazer

*

 I woke up yesterday to a three-legged lame dog. *Sigh* The more animals you have the more interesting life gets. In all truth, I didn’t notice the lameness until we went out after feeding horses to play ball and Frisbee. It’s possible the dog was hopping on three legs prior to that, but if he was it didn’t register with my brain. It’s more likely he was walking fine UNTIL we went out to run around. I dunno. I have three dogs, two balls and one Frisbee all going in three different directions simultaneously with a carefully orchestrated rhythm that insures no two dogs get back to me at the same time. It’s  a canine juggling act. Anywho, on the first return Hazer came back limping. Not just “ouch, my paw hurts” limping, but literally holing his left front paw up off the ground gimping. That didn’t deter his desire to play Frisbee at all, it just slowed him down some. Naturally, I took the Frisbee from him and looked at his paw. Cautiously. Hazer isn’t known for accommodating pokes, pries or … hell, Hazer doesn’t even like to be looked at. He tolerated some  exploration, but grew increasingly impatient with the fact that I wasn’t tossing his Frisbee again. My inspection of the suspect paw was interrupted twice so I could kick Neena’s ball again and lob the tennis ball for Gus. That didn’t do much for Hazer’s patience.

Cattle Dogs are notorious for their high pain threshold. Both Neena and Hazer have had some pretty serious boo-boos and both have showed complete disregard for their pain. As their human it’s my job to evaluate these situations carefully, not take their word for how they feel. They could be bleeding out a lung and if asked, would say they’re fine and just throw the Frisbee again, damnit! They’re like a four year-old child who wails and sup-sucks the entire way up the stairs, insisting they’re not tired and they don’t need to go to bed yet. Yeah, right.

The jury is out on the diagnosis. I made sure he had a very low activity day yesterday and that he did minimal stairs. He seems a bit better today, but I’m watching him carefully. Lyme disease can show sudden and acute lameness symptoms and he’s had Lyme several times. If he’s not fully recovered in a couple of days I may have him looked at by our vet. Time will tell.

6 responses

  1. Here’s hoping for an equally swift and unexplained recovery.

    September 4, 2014 at 8:08 AM

    • Thanks! Believe me, I’ll be grateful if he just gets better on his own. I certainly won’t be asking any questions! 😉

      September 4, 2014 at 10:28 AM

  2. I hope he gets better. Beautiful dog. Great portrait.

    September 4, 2014 at 8:10 AM

    • Thanks! Hazer is a poser. It’s just a little side perk that he happens to be handsome too. One of his few (and I do mean FEW) redeeming qualities. My female is neither, so she get’s less exposure here. Kinda sad considering she’s a swell dog in every other way.

      September 4, 2014 at 10:31 AM

  3. Here’s hoping your dog mystery thing is better than mine was this week……….me being the freak worry wart that I am after the Kizzi deal (yes 2yrs later and I am still constantly thinking about it) thought for sure my Sierra was suffering the same fate this past weekend and mucho dollars later found out that she had a UTI……go figure…its always something when you have animals! Hazer be a good boy and let mama look at your foot……

    September 4, 2014 at 11:48 AM

    • I don’t blame you one bit for being a worry wart after what you went through. I think when things like that happen you’re always going to be on high alert. I’d even think even a UTI is a bit unusual … but that’s me. Hazer seems to be improving with rest, so I think he might have just landed wrong on that first Frisbee catch. Unusual for him, but like most senior ACDs, he still thinks he’s a youngster …. as you well know! 😉 Thanks for the support!

      September 4, 2014 at 8:03 PM

Leave a Reply

