Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Goodbye Old Barn

untitled--28

*

It took a little over two years, but yesterday we finally moved our three horses from our “old” barn to our “new” barn. (Insert a huge sigh of satisfaction and relief) It never dawned on me how much finishing work a barn requires before it’s suitable to house horses. And even though the horses have been moved there’s still several projects yet to complete. Like getting an inside wall properly finished off and slapping a coat of polyurethane on all the inside surfaces. We still need to figure out the schematics of the grain and tack room and the stalls need rubber mats that will require some custom fitting. (Insert several curse words here) The barn doesn’t have any electrical power yet and we’ve pretty much decided that getting water from the house to the barn might be impossible. Ledge. Our entire damn property is cursed with ledge and/or water. Yes, that’s a huge disappointment, but I suppose there’s some consolation in the fact that it’s a much shorter distance to run a hose than our old barn.

Yesterday as the humidity and temperature crept higher and higher my husband worked to wire the power box for the electric fence and I took hammer in hand and proceeded to bend the tips of a gazillion nail points. If there’s one thing I’ve learned it’s that horses will find any little thing to get injured on when they are moved to a new location. Then I made countless trips to and from one barn or the other, moving essentials that we’d need once the horses were relocated. It’s kind of like moving into a new house, but not having any of your stuff unpacked. It was mid afternoon before we finally threw halters on all three horses and walked them over. They weren’t as impressed as I’d hoped. There’s a small area of green grass in the new paddock and they all promptly dropped their heads and proceeded to eat. I’m not sure what I was expecting, but I guess that’s about as excited as a horse gets over new digs.

I had to make a couple of trips out to the old barn this morning. I was greeted by a strange silence and a feeling of desertion and melancholy. It’s not like the old barn won’t ever get used, but it’s unlikely it will ever house our horses again. And that’s a little sad. My husband built that barn in 1989 and there are lots of memories associated with the structure. Good memories and bad, good times and sad. I’ve been going out to that barn at least three times a day for two and a half decades. I know every nook, cranny and nail of that barn and I could walk there in my sleep. I wonder how many times next week I’ll head out of the basement and get halfway to the old barn before I remember where I’m going.

Goodbye old barn. You’ve earned your rest.

IMG_4437_8_9_tonemapped

*

IMG_3574_5_6_tonemapped-2

*

IMG_4851_2_3_tonemapped2

3 responses

  1. That picture of the barn in winter is one of my all-time favorite pictures of yours…or anyone’s! Glad that you’re keeping it up, and I’m betting the horses will happy as clams in their new haunts (admittedly, a bad simile). You’ve been busy!

    September 1, 2014 at 10:39 PM

    • Marc! So good to “hear” from you again! Thanks for the kind words on the photo. To give you a little perspective, that picture was taken after the big snow storm of 2010. The small cedar trees that are listing with snow (three of which are completely covered and not visible) are now so tall that this shot would be impossible to get: those cedar saplings are now full-fledged trees that totally block the view of the old barn from this angle. Consequently, at times I’m sorry I planted those trees, but with the Airline Trail just yards away from our property we were desperate for any privacy we could get. I didn’t think the little saplings that I uprooted from the woods down back would actually grow, but they did, making this a picture that will never be repeated again. Thanks for dropping by! Hope all is well with you!

      September 2, 2014 at 7:11 AM

  2. Pingback: New Digs | Cowgirl Up!

Leave a Reply

