Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Chilly

IMG_5690_ copy_ copy 2_tonemapped-3

(Click for best resolution)

*

Yes, it’s winter and yes, it’s been a cold one. While we haven’t had as much snow as we did the year this photo was taken, we’ve had more than I like. But worse than the snow is the bitter cold; it’s worn me thin. The constant parade of various layers of clothes and trying to whip through barn chores as quickly as possible has made this winter seem like one big, long tedious task. I have so many extra pairs of gloves and socks in my car that it looks a bit like I’m living there. I’m counting the days until it warms up, but until then any day that hits the low 30’s feels like a treat!

One response

  1. I know the feeling, having grown up in Michigan. It seems as if winter will NEVER end. But it’s January, and the days are growing longer. I know, I know. It’s not much consolation when the water buckets refuse to stay unfrozen and one has to smash the ice in the outdoor water troughs every day and you have to worry about losing power and you wonder if those frozen ruts in the mud are sharp enough to slice a tendon-but I promise you, Spring will come.

    January 20, 2014 at 11:49 AM

Leave a Reply

