Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Play Me

*

This took WAY more time than I intended, but somewhere along in the process I decided it might be a worthwhile endeavor, one I might enjoy looking back at a year or two from now.

So today these would be some of the songs I’d choose as my life playlist.

Warning: If you dislike posts with links then stop reading now.

Note: I abhor being in front of the camera. These are pretty much the only photos I have of myself.

*

424116_3440624701639_1304201640_n

Childhood:

Joni Mitchell: Twisted

*

188852_1939901218133_6408967_n

Teens:

Simon & Garfunkel: Scarborough Fair

Joni Mitchell: Trouble Child

Eagles: Life In The Fast Lane

KD Lang: Theme From Valley Of The Dolls

Evanescence: Going Under

Karla Bonoff: Someone To Lay Down Beside Me

Karen Matheson: I Will Not Wear The Willow

Bill Withers: Use Me

*

26277_1399394752166_1737230_n

Early 20’s

Bonnie Raitt: Too Long At the Fair

Everything But The Girl: Another Bridge

Karla Bonoff: Home

Mary Chapin Carpenter: Rhythm of the Blues

Sting: I’m So Happy I Can’t Stop Crying

Norah Jones: Shoot The Moon

Karla Bonoff: If He’s Ever Near

*

Cheryl 1

Mid 20’s- to late 30’s

Rickie Lee Jones: Chuck E’s In Love

KD Lang: I Want It All

KD Lang: Consequences of Falling

*

Studio

40’s

Seal: Bring It On

Natalie Merchant: Carnival

Sarah McLachlan: Plenty

Sting: It’s Probably Me

Norah Jones: I’ve Got To See You Again

Sade: Hang On To Your Love

Natalie Merchant: I May Know The Word

Sarah McLachlan: Possession

Karla Bonoff: Lose Again

*

Garden portrait

50-55:

Bonnie Raitt: Angel from Montgomery

Norah Jones: Don’t Know Why

Rickie Lee Jones: A Lucky Guy

Mary Chapin Carpenter: Come On Come On

*

Photo 6

Now:

Norah Jones: Come Away With Me

Lyle Lovett & His Large Band: All Downhill

Casting Crowns: Praise You In This Storm

Karen Matheson & Idir: A Vava Inouva

Jeremy Camp: Restored

John Mayer: Say

Karla Bonoff: Isn’t It Always Love

Joe Cocker: Ain’t No Sunshine

Mary Chapin Carpenter & Alison Krause: I Was a Bird

Roy Buchanan: The Messiah Will Come Again

(Bear with the spoken intro. The song is worth a listen!)

10 responses

  1. What a fabulous collection of pictures and songs that track and, perhaps more importantly, mark via music, your journey to this point. Who we listen(ed) to and what they had and have to say really does speak volumes about who we are. At least I think so, and apparently, so do you. I can only imagine how long it took you to compile these pictures and the list of songs. Oh yeah….thank you for the links! You kidding me? The links are great. The pictures are even better. If these are the only pictures you have of yourself, it’s both a shame there aren’t more and a treasure-chest collection, eh?

    October 6, 2013 at 9:00 PM

    • Music has been a great influence and presence in my life. I struggled to keep this post to a reasonable length; there was so much more I could have picked. I didn’t even allow myself to consider the songs or artists I simply liked but rather, made my selections based on the songs I felt described my journey best. Were I to do it all over again I’d probably omit some songs and include others that aren’t on the list. Thanks for listening, reading and leaving your thoughts.

      October 7, 2013 at 6:44 AM

  2. I too hate being in front of a camera. Unless I’m on a horse. Then I’m a ham.

    October 6, 2013 at 10:14 PM

    • I’ve seen your horsey pics and they’re pretty darn good. Well, in some you’re a ham for sure! I have exactly two pictures of me on a horse. I framed one and it sits on an end table in my living room. But only because it’s a great picture of the horse. If I could figure out a way to extract me from her back and out of the photo without wrecking it, I would. But there I sit in all my trail riding glory … goofy hat, ratty old shirt and all. (Way pre-helmet days!)

      October 7, 2013 at 6:50 AM

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mix Tape Masterpiece | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Great list and pics – you have no reason to be camera shy! My list would include all the same great female voices – not always the same tracks – but many of those songs have accompanied me through life. As our tastes are very similar do you also listen to Shawn Colvin and Nanci Griffiths? There are great young singers around but one’s own generation strikes the closest chord……

    October 7, 2013 at 7:28 AM

    • It’s kind of funny because I really didn’t set out to create a list of (mostly) female singers, but in the end that’s sort of what happened. I certainly don’t have a gender preference, but I do think some of the female artists have better captured my sentiments lyrically. I’m quite a music and voice snob with little to no tolerance for musicians who don’t perform to my standards. For example, I hesitated to include Sade in this list because while I think she projects an intriguing vibe, she has only a fair voice (at best) and her lyrics are generally repetitive and banal. But her band is tight and so musically, it seems to work. She’s certainly popular enough, although I often wince when I listen … really listen … to her voice. (Thanks largely to my brother, who when I first mentioned Sade was someone I thought I might like, pointed out that her voice was less than stellar. He was (of course) right.) There are SO many others I could have included on this list. So many!

      October 7, 2013 at 8:16 AM

  5. Fabulous. I am very impressed by the investment of time and heart that took. I love timelines, they give some foothold for us to move forward while holding the past in our minds and hearts.

    October 7, 2013 at 1:11 PM

    • Thank you! 🙂 At first I was very hard pressed to think about posting pictures of myself Ug! Then I struggled to narrow down the playlist to those few songs I felt had the strongest connection to my life journey. Ask me again in a week and the playlist might change. But A year from now it will be kind of cool to look back and see what I thought was the best representation for it right now!

      October 7, 2013 at 3:15 PM

  6. Pingback: My 8 Track | My Days In A Song

Leave a Reply

