Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Lady Godiva

Pocket damage 2(Click on photo for best resolution)

*

I’ve yet to ride through town naked on my horse, but I’ve been known to choose to wear clothing that’s seen better days. Like this flannel shirt. Hazer chewed through the chest pocket to get at a couple of crumbs left over from an earlier Frisbee or training session. Did I ever wear the shirt again? You bet! That’s one of the perks of living on a farm; no matter how worn out or ill-fitting, every article of clothing can (and does) get down-graded to barn wear.

*

At times it’s been pointed out that I ought to care more about my appearance, but as someone who’s entire working career consisted of wearing (first) a white uniform, which was eventually followed by wearing scrubs, I never learned to put much thought into what I wore. In my thirties I took up sewing and learned how to make a pretty snazzy working wardrobe. By then I had evolved into a (dental) managerial position and I liked dressing up a bit more for my job. But not long after I started that career AIDS, HIV and bio-hazard issues downgraded the office dress code to scrubs. I never understood why the person who answered the phones, booked the appointments and made all the financial transactions had to wear scrubs too, but there you have it. I always felt a little foolish asking people to pay thousands of dollars for their implants, bridges and crowns while dressed in what looked like brightly colored pajamas.

*

Today I’m somewhat of a conglomerate of comfortable, casual and maybe even a touch of slob. I don’t find my identity in what I do or don’t wear and I put comfort high on my list of priorities. That means my style  is one that relies heavily on active wear and/or sport clothing.

11 responses

  1. I have “barn jeans”. I generally remember not to wear them in public, but have been known to forget on a quick trip to the post office. Oops. A very ventilated oops.

    October 4, 2013 at 3:10 PM

    • LOL! My husband is far worse than me. When I point out, as I often do, that his riding jeans are (ahem) a bit too ventilated, he just laughs and says, “Chaps!” Not that I think wearing chaps fixes the problem completely, but I guess it’s better than the alternative! 😛

      October 4, 2013 at 3:16 PM

  2. I’m better turned out than I used to be but that’s not saying much! Five years ago, if I wore jeans, I considered it “dressing up.” My attire around the yard was either sweats or jodhs with wellington boots (gumboots I think) and a range of very tatty coats.

    October 4, 2013 at 3:54 PM

    • Nothing there to be ashamed of … according to my standards! 😉

      October 7, 2013 at 8:57 AM

  3. Pingback: Why do I look so good? | Rob's Surf Report

  4. Pingback: Why do I look so good? | Rob's Surf Report

  5. Pingback: How important are clothes to you? | Processing the life

  6. Pingback: Overdress Or Underdress | Anchors Aweigh

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  8. Pingback: How to Feel Like a Princess | mycookinglifebypatty

  9. Pingback: Princesses and Docs | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

