Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Gotta Wanna

IMG_0027(Click on photo for best resolution)

*

Public speaking and performing are often something we find hard to do. Fortunately, if I have passion for something or a great deal of knowledge about a subject then I can stand up in front of just about anyone and talk about it. I’m not, however, a performer. This means I tend to shy away from things I might enjoy for fear of being forced to demonstrate my proficiency in it. Things like dog sports, horse shows and even certain photography events strike a chord of fear and trepidation in my heart. I like the comfort of anonymity. Blending in with the background and not having the limelight shine on me is probably a learned (and defensive) way of avoiding criticism. And since some criticism can be constructive and helpful for growth, this is something I’m trying to chip away at one step at a time. After all, like poor Stella (above) nobody likes to be forced to do something they don’t want to do. Better perhaps, to face your fears by desensitizing at a pace that lets you adjust your level of comfort gradually.

7 responses

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Hitting the Switch | Cheri Speak

  3. Pingback: Am I really comfortable in front of people? | Rob's Surf Report

  4. Pingback: Black Socks Down | Edward Hotspur

  5. Nice expression.

    September 19, 2013 at 7:45 AM

    • Thanks! Cracks me up!

      September 21, 2013 at 8:18 AM

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Naked with Black Socks | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

