Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Free

IMG_5951

*

Real Good For Free by Joni Mitchell. (This song always transports me back to my teens: sitting in the living room on a late weekend night, listening to my brother play piano. My own personal concert, real good …. for free.)

*

Sometimes you bump into something fun by accident. Saturday I braved the heat and humidity to work my butt off trying to catch up on garden and yard chores before the next week of rainy weather begins. I got a lot done, but I was so physically drained that by dinnertime I couldn’t fathom the thought of fixing a meal. So I hit the shower to wash off the bug repellent and sweat, then we headed out for a casual bite to eat. For some strange reason I had a hankering for guacamole. Unfortunately, nearest decent Mexican restaurant is a bit of a drive and while on the way we thought of a place closer. The re-fried beans would have to wait for another time.

We had a pleasant meal. Nothing extraordinary, but it’s my habit not to complain about any meal I don’t have to fix myself. However, as we were getting ready to leave we noticed a trio setting up to play in the bar. Since my husband started playing in a band (two years ago) he can’t resist the urge to chat with any musician he meets, and if possible, stick around to hear them play something. So naturally he had to chat up the guys in the band and before I knew it we were seated at the bar and waiting to hear their first set. Turns out they were very good and we spent the next two hours thoroughly enjoying the entertainment. The area they were playing in was VERY small … barely enough room to hold the three of them and a dozen or so appreciative spectators, but it was obvious they had some regular followers and it didn’t take long to see why. They played a fun variety of music and they were quite personable. The lead guitarist doubled on sax and both he and the base player did vocals with really nice harmonies. During the second set another local musician who was in the crowd joined the trio and they did a couple of tight blues tunes. No doubt, they’ve jammed together before because they seemed pretty comfortable playing together. It was a pleasant surprise to hear such fine musicians without having to pay a cover charge.

4 responses

  1. It sounds like you had a nice, relaxing, enjoyable evening after your day of hard work. Love the picture!

    July 2, 2013 at 11:25 AM

    • You’re right, it was great to get out and enjoy some entertainment for a change!

      July 4, 2013 at 10:05 AM

  2. Loved this Cheryl. It really did take me back, too. Those evenings on the farm, playing Joni, Elton, and so many others. Tinkling the ivories. Aaahhh.

    July 3, 2013 at 8:12 AM

    • Great memories, Robert!

      July 4, 2013 at 10:05 AM

Leave a Reply

