Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Pleased to Meet Ya …. Not?

IMG_6250

*

I’ve been riding a lot this spring. As usual, mostly alone. Yesterday Dharla and I were on our way home from a long ride along Salmon River when four women approached on horseback at a fast canter. Right before they got to us they slowed to a speedy walk/trot, then passed with hardly a nod or a “Hello.” I found that odd, given most equestrians stop and chat a bit; ask where you’re from or what part of the trail system you’ve been riding. When people learn I know the area well and have years of experience riding the local trails, many want to exchange a phone number or try to make arrangements to get together for a ride in the future. We have a huge assortment of trails in our area, but it can be somewhat daunting to ride out on them if you’re not at all familiar with the system. So it was a little strange when these women blasted up to me, passed with nary a word, then blasted off. I dunno. Maybe they were late for something? Either way, it was a great opportunity for me to see how Dharla would respond to this kind of situation, and she did me proud. Maybe it was because we were headed for home and my horse knew that, but she wasn’t phased at all by the sight of four large horses charging up to her, then immediately moving on. I was so pleased. While there are times when Dharla can seem overly sensitive to situations or circumstances, this just goes to show that she does have a lot of common sense.

2 responses

  1. I guess that falls into the “people are strange” category. I’d sure stop for a chat if I met you, even here in France I chat away when I meet hikers while I’m riding

    May 2, 2013 at 8:17 AM

    • I know! I thought it was kinda odd too. I mean, maybe they were running really late or something? Could be. But usually I look at it as a chance to get to know other riders and maybe pick up some useful information or make some good contacts for a later date. Most of the people I’ve ridden with were folks I bumped into out on the trail. And it’s a great opportunity for my young horse to meet new horses and a chance for her to exhibit her good manners. Which she did, but they sure didn’t hang around. Either way, I’m glad my horse was polite and didn’t carry on or fuss as they rushed off. Their loss! 😉

      May 2, 2013 at 2:23 PM

Leave a Reply

