Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Oblivious

IMG_5894

*

I feel like I’ve spent the better part of the last year like Gus: oblivious to everything going on around me.

For those following, in the last twelve months I’ve weathered numerous operations on my right eye. Last March I only required one simple procedure, but then things went awry. The ensuing tailspin ended up being much more complicated (and scary, frustrating, and costly) than I ever could have imagined. Yesterday I got a new pair of glasses (second pair in two months). These glasses are supposed to be my last and final installment in this saga. The new glasses are an improvement over the $700.00+ pair I got previously, so maybe once I get used to them I’ll be rocking 20/20 vision again? (Insert HUGE sigh here)

A week ago (yesterday) I lost a very close friend who was truly like a brother and son to the entire Zovich family. We knew his recent diagnosis of pancreatic cancer was terminal, but to lose this man only a few short weeks after Pop died left us reeling. It’s just ….. not fair? Too soon? What? I don’t know. Two deaths in five weeks kinda makes you visit those deep, dark places in your mind.

Have I been taking many pictures lately? No. For several reasons. One, it’s been very cold and windy. Most of the things I’d strive to shoot this time of year can’t be photographed in blustery wind. Two, the light conditions have been horrible. No gorgeous sunrises and very few picturesque sunsets. The skies have been unusually dull.  Third, the horses are muddy, hairy and somewhat scrappy looking, and the dogs? Well, I just haven’t felt inspired. Hopefully the conditions will begin to improve soon and I’ll get my mojo back. Oh, and I’ve been sick with an upper respiratory virus for four weeks now. That was enough to take whatever wind I had right out of my sails!

Today is anther cold, rainy, damp morning. If Mother nature is listening I could sure use a slight change of scene!

6 responses

  1. Good to see you back, and yes, I agree that this has been the coldest and saddest winter- At times like this I think surviving is the best revenge. But eventually something has to turn green, right? Take care.

    April 23, 2013 at 8:37 AM

    • I agree … it’s been a LONG winter! I’m seeing some improvement in the weather so the greenery can’t be too far behind! Yay!

      April 24, 2013 at 9:54 PM

  2. That’s a rough year. I’m sorry you’re hurting. I love the picture- there must be something either tasty or smelly down in that snow. Or maybe a ball. Wishing you peace and sunshine.

    April 23, 2013 at 11:11 AM

    • Thanks for the kind words. If nothing else, goofy dogs always put a smile on my face!

      April 24, 2013 at 9:55 PM

  3. Chancy and Mumsy

    I do hope your eyes are going to be doing great now and you will require no more treatment or new glasses. Sorry about the loss of your friend. Love the picture of the dogs. Hugs

    April 24, 2013 at 3:43 PM

    • Thanks Mumsy. I’m getting used to the new specs and I think they’ll do the job just fine! Hugs to you and your gang!

      April 24, 2013 at 9:56 PM

Leave a Reply

