Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Having Gusto

 

 

 

*

This picture was taken when Gus was just a hair over three months old. He’s six months old now, and starting to fill out and mature into the handsome boy he’ll become. His personality is engaging and when paired with his winsome smile and good looks, it’s the icing on this little pupcake. Gus is smart, tenacious, witty and forgiving. Unfortunately his housemates are not always that thrilled to have this happy, zoomy bundle of fun around and to his credit, when they slip into to their police act Gus goes along with their nonsense. Yes, you’re big and mean and tough … wanna play tug? Wanna chase me? Wanna look for deer poop together? It would take a lot to crush this sweet little boy’s joyful soul. I adore his happy energy and loving temperament; it’s a welcome change from the stern, serious working dogs I’ve had the last fifteen years. Not that Gus is any slouch. He’s not. But he’s a master at letting things go and easily flips from the tenacious hunter into the wiggly snuggler in the blink of an eye.

I couldn’t have picked a worse time to get a puppy. Going against my better judgement, I got Gus knowing full well that I had a long weekend away planned less than a month later. Fortunately, my sister-in-law was kind enough to volunteer to puppy-sit and I was able to get away without having to worry about boarding a very young, somewhat timid little boy. We survived that hurdle, but the weekend after we returned home my older sister was in a terrible motorcycle accident. And during all this I was still struggling to get by with badly impaired vision and upcoming (additional) corrective eye surgery.

We soldiered on. I somehow managed to get Gus to a local puppy kindergarten class. Unable to drive very far or drive after dusk, this class was scheduled for early evening and conveniently close by. I took Gus out for several meet-and-greet visits where we’d sit outside the town library or post office and strangers would pet my puppy and offer him a tasty treat. Slowly, Gus outgrew his timidity of unfamiliar places and people and learned to enjoy riding quietly in the car.

The best thing about Gus is that he’s not a particularly stern or serious dog unless he’s hunting. It’s only then that you can see an intensity and demeanor transformation that’s true to his breed. The second best thing about Gus (and it runs a close second!) is that he’s QUIET. So far Gus isn’t prone to barking or making excessive noise, which, after living with a dog who loves the sound of his own voice, is a godsend! I look forward to watching this young boy grow and mature into a young adult. We still have the terrible “tweens” to navigate, but I’m thinking this little guy will come through that unscathed. Time will tell!

2 responses

  1. He is just adorable! I love the write up. I think he came into your life at the right time, a little lovey to pick you up on those down days.

    November 19, 2012 at 12:52 PM

    • I think you’re probably right about his coming here just at the right time. He’s certainly been a good sport about all the craziness! Maybe I’m on to something there? 😉

      November 21, 2012 at 9:55 AM

Leave a Reply

