Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Stillness

*

Our storm is finally here. After several hours of wondering if I’d made a horrible mistake by talking my husband into cancelling work and staying home, it looks like the storm is really going to show up. You do get kind of numb to all the hype that seldom pans out. I was beginning to think maybe this was not going to be any different than all the other ‘unprecedented” storms that never materialized. While we don’t have sustained high winds yet, we are getting huge gusts that make the two (plus) story white pines in the back yard bob and weave with a life of their own. That’s a little scary. And I worry about the big oaks near the pasture and the barn. We New Englanders love our trees and if given the opportunity to strip the land bare of them, we’d politely decline the offer and suffer the consequences. More easily said when the weather is nice, than when in the throes of the third mega storm in 12 months.

We’ll see how this all pans out. They’ve basically promised we’ll all be without power, and some for an extended time. I’ve been to the library. I should be all set.

5 responses

  1. Have a safe hunker-down.

    October 29, 2012 at 12:35 PM

  2. Stay safe and dry.

    October 29, 2012 at 2:26 PM

  3. It’s very nice to have a calming picture to refer to during this bluster. Good choice for a posting. I’ve got my book, my popcorn, and at my feet, the dog is asleep. I guess we’re all set here. Be safe, and I hope those white pines come through unscathed.

    October 29, 2012 at 2:32 PM

  4. Very pretty picture. Please stay safe.

    October 30, 2012 at 11:01 AM

    • Thanks! We did OK here … thank goodness!

      November 1, 2012 at 8:40 AM

Leave a Reply

