Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Vision

*

This is a pretty good representation of how I see the world. Some things are crystal clear, while others are very fuzzy. After awhile, It makes your brain hurt. Think about the time you put on your (very nearsighted) friend’s glasses and the world spun. Yeah. That’s it. That’s how it feels. Good times  … as long as it’s not forever!

So here we go with another potentially disastrous weather event.  Odd, to be prepping for it half blind. When it comes to severe storms I’m a chronic worrier. I worry about my horses the most, but I also worry about the dogs, the house, the property and so on and so forth. I try not to obsess, but that usually fails.This time around I didn’t mince words with my hubby. Since the worst of the storm is slated to hit us early Monday morning I simply announced that he wasn’t going to go in to work and leave me here (half blind) to fend for myself.

He stared at me for a very brief moment while I took a deep breath and continued. No way was he leaving me here alone to worry about (and deal with) the horses. I reasoned that if one of the big ancient oaks that line our property drops on the fence  and gives them an escape route, there’s nothing I can do to help. I can’t even SEE the fence, little own go chasing after loose horses by myself. In all the years we’ve had horses and weathered storms this has never happened, but I’ve pictured it a thousand times and I worry about it becoming a reality. Our horses don’t do stall confinement well and the truth of the matter is, when the shit hits the fan I tend to think they know better than humans where their safe zone is. And I can tell you right now, that ain’t the barn. So our horses will ride this storm out unfettered. I’ve braided their ID tags into their manes and whispered words of wisdom into their ears. The rest is up to God.

Who would think I’d be facing a second major hurricane in just 12 months? Now there’s gotta be something wrong with that picture!

6 responses

  1. Love this image!

    October 29, 2012 at 12:02 AM

  2. Very pretty image!

    October 29, 2012 at 2:25 AM

    • Thank you! Glad you stopped by!

      October 29, 2012 at 12:49 PM

  3. Awesome photo! 🙂

    October 29, 2012 at 3:43 PM

  4. Wow, everytime I see your images all I can say is Wow. You are very gifted at capturing the naked beauty of nature.

    October 29, 2012 at 7:24 PM

    • Thanks so much for the kind words! 🙂

      November 1, 2012 at 8:39 AM

Leave a Reply

