Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Apple Dumpling Gang

*

It’s that time of year again. when apples fall from the old apple tree on our property. The dogs love them, and they start pulling strings to convince me they need to go out so they can run over by the pond and pig out on the apples that have fallen in the last hour since they inhaled all the apples in sight. I know it’s probably not good for them, but I’m not going to spend hours every day picking up apples so they won’t eat them. I tried that once. Nope, not doing that again! So they get to gorge on apples for a few weeks and I’ll try to pretend I don’t notice. I usually manage to grab a few for the horses, but you have to be quick to stay one step ahead of the dogs. They’re pretty thorough.

I’ve noticed some changes in the eye that had surgery. I’m not sure what’s going on, but I’ve had to put a call into the surgeon. I’m waiting to see what he says, but I suspect it will entail an unplanned visit to his office. Eye stuff can seldom be evaluated over the phone. And I’d be fooling if I said I wasn’t feeling a little down and disgusted. It’s a week short of seven months since this whole mess started and I haven’t been able to see anything correctly since. I’m two weeks away from an appointment to be measured for new lenses, which is supposed to be the end of the road for this journey, but if I’m having complications then I have a funny feeling this trip isn’t over yet. It’s like I’m hanging from the edge of a cliff by my fingernails. Problem is, sometimes it’s easier to let go than to keep dangling indefinitely.

4 responses

  1. Mag (Chancy's Mumsy)

    That picture is terrific!!! All of an apple is good for dogs but for the seeds. So sorry to hear you are still having eye problems. Hope you have better news than you are thinking you might have if you see the doctor again. Hugs

    October 23, 2012 at 10:00 AM

    • Thanks Mumsy! I try to keep the apple- munching down to a dull roar mostly because of the seeds, but it sure hasn’t hurt them yet!

      October 24, 2012 at 9:03 AM

  2. Beautiful photo. I love the colors and textures. Good luck with your eye. I hope all will be OK.

    October 23, 2012 at 10:26 AM

    • I know you know how hard these lingering medical issues can be and your encouragement is greatly appreciated. Thanks for always taking the time to say something uplifting!

      October 24, 2012 at 9:02 AM

Leave a Reply

