Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Pink

*

First of all, thanks to all the well-wishes for my sister and BIL who were in a serious motorcycle accident last weekend. My sister, who has no medical insurance, is still in the Trauma Hospital. She had surgery to put pins in her fractured leg and is getting PT to help her figure out how to cope with a broken leg and clavicle. Normally we bitch about how fast the insurance companies try to get the hospital to discharge patients, but in her case there is no insurance and hence, she has no idea when she’ll go home. I’m beginning to wonder if she ought to start pushing a bit more to get the heck out of there. I know it will be a challenge to get back and forth to visit her husband, but I think she thinks her bill is someone elses responsibility. Unfortunately, it’s not, and for every day she stays put the meter keeps running. I find it questionable that nobody has started hinting at when she might go home, yet her injuries are not critical. But I  guess that’s not my problem.

The BIL is in much deeper doo-doo. His injuries, though not internal, are numerous and complex. He has a long list of broken bones and complications that will take many months to straighten out. He’s already had a couple of surgeries to try to repair various fractured limbs, but I suspect he’ll be having more for years to come. Yeah. Not good. But he’s breathing on his own and the internal stuff is (so far) fine. Bones heal, so I guess he’ll get through this.

I’ve hardly begun to address my own personal anger and frustration about this situation. It’s my opinion that they had no business being on a motorcycle to begin with and I’m having a tough time coming to grips with the long-term consequences of their foolishness. Yes, accidents happen, but when you’re in their situation you don’t take frivolous risks without preparing for the consequences if there’s a disaster. Now that the dreaded wreck has happened, it’s sort of a moot point that I’ve been harping at my sister for 12 years about not having any medical insurance and a few other stop-gap measures in place. I can’t help thinking that if you’re gonna play you’d better be able to pay, and if you don’t have a spec of medical coverage then it’s probably not a good idea to be tooling around on the back of a motorbike.

I hope she figures out how she’s going to go forward from here. It’s been one heck of a week.

4 responses

  1. Chancy and Mumsy

    I hope all of this turns out for the best for all. Those hospital bills can add up in a real big hurry. So sorry about the accident and I hope they both have a full recovery. Hugs

    August 31, 2012 at 4:47 PM

    • I think it’s going to be a long uphill battle for both and yes, the bills are going to be one heck of a mountain. I can’t do much about that. Thanks for your support!

      September 1, 2012 at 12:27 PM

  2. So sorry to hear about the accident and repercussions … and yes, how, aaargh, frustrating about the medical cover. Hope positive thoughts sent from all your readers are some comfort. I’m sure the horses and dogs will be the best of support!

    August 31, 2012 at 7:03 PM

    • I dunno. It just seems to me like if you’re going to spend your recreational time riding a motorcycle then you really ought to have medical insurance because it’s a very risky hobby. I wouldn’t dream of riding horses if I didn’t have insurance. Anything can and probably (eventually) will happen. *Sigh* Not a priority for everyone, I guess, though I don’t understand it. I’m hoping the weather improves so I can get out and ride a bit more often. I could sure use the down time! Thanks for the well-wishes!

      September 1, 2012 at 12:30 PM

Leave a Reply

