Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Dew

*

No shortage of water here! Not only has the morning dew been heavy, we’ve had frequent rain this summer along with weeks of  high humidity. It’s hard to believe large areas of the United States are suffering from horrible drought. Is it my imagination or does it seem like it’s always feast or famine lately? With all the extreme weather events this summer I’ve forgotten what a “normal” storm is like. We don’t get gentle breezes with our storms anymore, we get property damaging winds. And when it rains we have flash floods, where anything that isn’t anchored down gets swept away. I’m not sure what the reason is, but I feel like the older I get the more it seems like our world is being battered by Mother Nature. As a photographer I try to find the beauty in certain weather events and how they affect our landscape, but at times it’s hard to stay detached. Especially when I know so many people and animals have been adversely affected by them. So I’ll try to count my blessings as I shoot the lush greenery that surrounds my farm in the damp, mid-August heat.

10 responses

  1. Topsy turvy weather everywhere. Our Colorado drought makes hay prices astronomical, and yes, it is the animals that suffer. My beautiful pond is a stinky mudhole. I think Mother Nature is mad at us. And we deserve it.

    August 16, 2012 at 11:06 AM

    • Our hay prices are high too, Anna. Here, it was because folks couldn’t cut and bale due to too much rain. By the time it cleared up, many had lost their first cut. Last winter hay was hard to find and what could be had was running about $9 a bale (45-50 pounds) because (they say) a lot of the brokers were shipping large lots of hay down to Texas. CT has the second highest number of horses per capita in the country (second only to RI). Where are we supposed to get our hay if NY, VT, ME and the surrounding agricultural states are shipping everything somewhere else? That’s why we built a new barn … we had to have a way to store a larger quantity of hay at a time. I hear you on the pond, too. A few nights ago I saw some footage on TV where they were having to rescue numerous cows and horses that have become entrapped in the mud surrounding the drying ponds. Sadly, these animals must have been so thirsty that they were willing to risk getting trapped to get to water. It breaks my heart. Here, most people fence around ponds if they ‘re smart because having livestock fall on and through ice is too great of a danger. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you get more rain soon!

      August 16, 2012 at 1:01 PM

      • Is a little balance too much to ask?? Good luck to you all for some dry out time.

        August 16, 2012 at 4:12 PM

  2. Love the dew drop shots! Beautiful.
    Sitting in the middle of the drought, it sounds like our normal fairly common stormy, humid weather has shifted east and that’s what you are getting. I went on a road trip across mid Missouri just yesterday and the normally green fields are golden and dry and the tips of many of the trees are brown. Hope this drought ends soon, the only thing I don’t miss is the constant humidity but will trade that for some much needed rain.

    August 16, 2012 at 11:08 AM

    • Thanks for the photo props Christy! I’m never sure which is worse: having too much or too little water? They’re both bad I guess, which makes me even more thankful when we happen to get just the right amount. It’s amazing how delicate the balance of nature can be. Here’s hoping you get the much needed and healing rain soon!

      August 16, 2012 at 1:05 PM

  3. Beautiful shot!!

    August 16, 2012 at 3:15 PM

  4. Chancy and Mumsy

    That is a fantastic shot! hugs

    August 16, 2012 at 9:28 PM

    • Thanks …. as always, Mumsy!

      August 28, 2012 at 9:19 PM

  5. wow that is the most beautiful thing I have seen in a long time.

    August 21, 2012 at 6:56 PM

    • Thanks for the very kind words. Much appreciated

      August 28, 2012 at 9:18 PM

Leave a Reply

