Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Strung Out

*

Bach Concerto for Violin, Strings & Contunuo in A Minor by Pinchis Zukerman & English Chamber Orchestra

*

This is how I’ve been feeling lately: Hanging on by a thread. Hung out to dry. On the fence.

Yup, this picture fits my mood well.

If you stare at the clothes pin on the far right you can see how the world looks through my right eye. No biggie, I’ve got two eyes, right? Well, we’re not made to work that way. My right eye is my dominant eye, meaning, the image that gets sent from my left eye doesn’t travel to my brain as quickly as the image from my right eye.  So my brain tries to focus on a fuzzy image first. Several nanoseconds later it stutters and goes, “Oh, that’s right. Wrong eye!” Then it picks up the somewhat clearer image on the left. But unless I close my right eye, the final image remains off balance. What my left eye sees is in focus, like the clothes pin in the very middle of the picture. What the right eye sees is dull and blurry, like the pin on the right. So if you stare at the pin in between the two, you’ll get a pretty good idea of what I see all the time; a messed up slightly in-focus, slightly out of focus view of the world!

Needless to say, I haven’t been taking very many pictures. In some ways I’m OK with that, but in others its very frustrating. The longer my camera sits unused the harder it is to retain the fluency to use it when I’m ready to shoot again. So every now and then I push myself to get out and try to shoot something. I’ve pretty much come to rely on using live view, which limits my ability to take pictures of anything that could move suddenly, like horses and dogs. I try to stick with flowers and things of that sort. More often than not, I’ve found myself saying thank goodness for my Macro lens.

OK, enough of the violins for now ….

4 responses

  1. Very cool shot!! I love it! Sorry about your vision problems. I am dealing with hearing problems from my surgery so I can relate. I have no hearing in my left ear and my right ear and brain are going crazy trying to work everything out. Hopefully for both of us it is temporary. Anyways, great shot!!

    July 12, 2012 at 2:23 PM

    • Hey, if we lived closer we could team up … I’d be your ears and you could be my eyes! You hang in there too. It hasn’t been that long for you, so give it some time. (I know that’s the hard part!) I figure it’s going to be at least a few more months before they can finish the surgical end of things for me and then they’ll readjust my glasses prescription. After that I should be in better shape … I hope!!

      July 12, 2012 at 2:28 PM

  2. brilliant photograph

    July 13, 2012 at 10:44 AM

    • Thanks! Glad you liked it!

      July 15, 2012 at 8:27 AM

Leave a Reply

