Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Curves

 

 

*

(Ora, by Ludovico Einaldi, from the CD Una Mattina)

*

It’s interesting how life throws us curves, sometimes over and over again.

A macular peel, vitrectomy, three retinal tears and a retinal detachment later, my eye is doing well. Tired and a wee bit beat up, but it’s starting to heal. Of course, I can’t see anything yet and it’s going to start brewing a cataract soon (that will have to be removed and the lens replaced), but I’m not going to think about that now.  My vision will be very slow to heal. Slow as in, like 1-1.5 years. On one hand you think, well, thank God it WILL return, but on the other hand you grapple with so many different emotions. You ponder the fairness of this fate;  this has not been my first lengthy medical hurdle. Then you catch yourself thinking that and you know there are so many people who’ve been dealt a worse hand, that you feel small and foolish for feeling sorry for yourself. So you solder on and do what you can.

Unfortunately, this will affect my ability to take and process pictures. I’ve been trying to retrain myself to use my left eye to focus when I’m shooting, but I’m not very quick with it yet.  I can do some macro shoots because I can use a remote shutter release and live view, so I may have to default to macro for now. If spring would really get here I should have some nice floral subjects to shoot, but until the weather improves I’m more or less stuck blogging photos from the past.

5 responses

  1. Good news about your eyes, eventually. However, I must respectfully reject the Other People Have it Worse argument. While, I understand the need for gratitude, the theory can also be construed that unless I am a quadriplegic rape victim at a refuge camp in Darfur, I have no right to my emotions. Rail and scream against fate. You have every right to be annoyed. It sucks. Well, that was intended to make you feel better. Didn’t quite come out that way. In any event, do not add guilt over your own legitimate feelings to everything else. I’m good at that. It sucks as well. Ok, I’ll stop now.

    May 4, 2012 at 9:41 AM

    • Your response really made me laugh and I thank you for pointing out (what should be) the obvious with such a great sense of humor. You’re right, it sucks and it’s frustrating and tedious. Hopefully, this too shall pass … 🙂

      May 4, 2012 at 10:51 AM

  2. This is a very lovely shot =)

    May 4, 2012 at 10:38 AM

    • Thank you! Nature is hard to top!

      May 4, 2012 at 10:52 AM

  3. Ditto Rodney’s Saga – wish I could put it so well! Spring is very near and your macro shots of flowers and insects are always stunning 🙂

    May 4, 2012 at 5:21 PM

Leave a Reply

