Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Lookin’ For Love!

 

*

It’s breeding season for hawks and they’re driving me crazy! I see about 6-8 hawks around my house and property daily and usually when I see them they’re in a great location to shoot. Unfortunately, their minds are so focused on finding a mate that they’re not content to sit in one spot for very long. For the better part of an hour I watched one male follow a female from tee to tree yesterday. I had my camera in hand, ready to grab a few frames if they roosted low and close by, but they stayed pretty much on the move. Ah well. Hopefully a pair will mate and build a nest nearby. A few years ago we had a pair raise their young almost directly across the street from our farm. That was thrilling, albeit noisy! I had tons of viewing and shooting opportunities, but back then I didn’t have a camera. The hawks seem to like our little corner of the neighborhood so perhaps if I’m lucky a pair will call it home again this year?

9 responses

  1. Have you seen the film ‘Pale Male’? Fabulous.

    February 23, 2012 at 10:30 AM

    • No, but now I’ll have to look into it!

      February 23, 2012 at 12:31 PM

  2. Oh – what a beauty!

    The Red Tailed Hawk is my totem animal – this guy is an absolute stunner!

    Gorgeous shot.

    M.L.

    February 23, 2012 at 12:28 PM

    • This guy/gal is pretty special. It only has one eye. I keep looking to see if it comes back again … I would be thrilled if it’s one of the several hawks that live around here. I’m hoping that if I can get more hawk pictures I’ll find it again!

      February 23, 2012 at 12:42 PM

      • I used to live in an area named ‘Hawksville’ – these guys were everywhere…

        I wonder what happened to him that he lost an eye?

        I have seen some squirrels put up some darn good fights when they are grabbed – maybe one got away?

        February 23, 2012 at 12:51 PM

  3. I wondered how it lost the eye, too! It never dawned on me that it might have been from prey that fought back! I thought maybe it got lost via a clutch mate. The other siblings can be really vicious with each other. It’s truly survival of the fittest, especially when they’re young! And no wonder Hawksville was named such with all that hawk activity. I’d be beside myself! I feel very drawn to hawks … especially the Red Tail and the Cooper’s.

    February 23, 2012 at 3:20 PM

    • I was thinking about his one eye – how focused he must have to be, how intuitive in his hunting he must also have to be that he has survived with such a handicap – and is so beautiful, so strong.

      I love this image of him all the more for the strength we ‘can’t’ see as much as for the strength and beauty we can.

      I am so glad that you shared this picture and info about him – I am inspired.

      M.L.

      February 23, 2012 at 6:43 PM

      • I’m glad you enjoyed this! You can see a few more shots of him/her here: https://curtalefarm.wordpress.com/2011/11/03/hardships/

        February 23, 2012 at 9:16 PM

      • *grin* thank you!

        February 23, 2012 at 9:17 PM

Leave a Reply

