Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Going Places

*

My dog doesn’t herd geese very often. They don’t excite him much and he gets bored. But I get a real kick out of watching geese operate as a group. I mean come on, if you’ve never followed behind a gaggle of geese for the better part of an hour and not cracked up then you’d better check your humor meter. The waddling, the hissing, the honking! You’ve gotta laugh. But I’ll tell you what’s NOT funny. Clipping goose wings. Yeah. I volunteered for that chore once. Now there’s a little event I’m not gonna to sign up for (again) in the near future. And to think I was worried about them pooping on me! See those long graceful necks? Well let’s just say those suckers have reach and they can BITE! I was afraid I might hurt them at first, until they got nasty with me. Then all bets were off. Catching a goose and holding it to be clipped makes dancing with wolves look like beginner ballet. Think of any time you’ve ever watched somebody try to catch a chicken, only two times bigger and about a gazillion times meaner. It really should be a rodeo event.

So for the most part this is how I like my geese: On the go!

*

4 responses

  1. Like so many other farm chores, the romance is only an illusion. There is a reason folks use geese as guard animals…heheheh. Nice description!

    February 1, 2012 at 7:35 AM

    • Oh, you are so right about the romantic illusion! Right now there’s nothing pretty about six inches of mud! Glad someone else can relate! 😉

      February 2, 2012 at 10:21 AM

  2. …and then they take those lovely, soft, fluffy wings, and whack you upside the head. I used to have to hold geese for meds/examinations when I worked at a Children’s Zoo.

    February 1, 2012 at 8:12 AM

    • Oh yeah! Those wings are deadly weapons too. But I was too worried about getting bit (or pooped on) to even think about getting whacked by wings! You must be pretty brave to volunteer to hold geese more than once! I bow to you!

      February 2, 2012 at 10:24 AM

Leave a Reply

