Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Mastery

 

*

One of the first things I tried to shoot as a new photographer was the moon, because I’ve never lost my little girl awe of a big yellow (or red) full moon. Nothing stops me with wide-eyed wonder and appreciation like the sight of a glowing moon silently rising over the top of a dark treeline.  One of the things about having horses is that I spend more time outside than most people ordinarily do. I feed our horses hay several times a day and their last feeding is around 10:30 or 11 PM. It’s usually at that late hour that I have the best view of the moon as it moves slowly across the open horizon. Soon after, the moon drops behind the trees again and won’t resurface until the early hours of the morning, when it reappears on the opposite side of our house.

My first attempts to photograph the moon had mixed results. I soon learned that nighttime photography required a set of skills that I didn’t have yet … and still don’t.  The few decent shots I managed to get were really nothing more than sheer dumb luck. The photo above is actually a setting moon, taken at dawn. I probably shot at least fifty or sixty frames, of which only a few were keepers. And even the best were not great. But I kept a few of those shots because if I ever start thinking I’ve mastered my camera I can look at some of those early photos and be humbled. There’s always something more I can learn!

6 responses

  1. I’m hoping that some day I master my camera.

    Raven

    December 18, 2011 at 10:31 AM

    • Someday? LOL! I think you’ve arrived! Thanks for stopping by!

      December 31, 2011 at 11:04 AM

  2. Nice image, Cheryl, it as much about color tones as it is about the detail of the trees and moon. (Right now WordPress has snow flakes floating down on your image, but they don’t seem to be sticking to the trees.) Keep practicing, you can never take too many shots, and yes go back and look at your older images, I think you will find that you having been making progress. Something that I do is go back through my Lightroom catalog periodically and I find images that I may have overlooked, or not realized the possibilities, but as my post processing skills have improved, and my eye has more visual experiences, I am able to do something new and interesting with the formerly overlooked images.

    December 18, 2011 at 7:29 PM

    • Thanks Wayne! I’ve been going back through my catalog of photos … mostly because this summer and fall turned out to be a photographic dud. The light was horrible, the fall colors stunk … it was nothing like the year before. And it’s looking like winter might not be much better. I suppose that leaves me with plenty of time to work on other things, but I sure miss shooting!

      December 31, 2011 at 10:45 AM

  3. Cheryl, the image you captured of the moon is really quite wonderful, and considerably more difficult than many casual observers might believe. After a few decades invested becoming an astronomy nut, and a couple of those decades working with 35mm film to capture pics of the moon, I know what a remarkable challenge it is to get anything other than a sorta round, indiscernible blob from a night’s work. I’ve yet to get a facsimile of the moon using my fancy-pants digital camera. So – very well done. Hell, I can easily make out the (Chinese) rabbit, even if she is standing on her head. Marc

    December 19, 2011 at 12:27 AM

    • Thanks Marc! I knew you’d appreciate this effort, what with your previous experience. And speaking of fancy-pants cameras, where’s YOUR photo blog?? 😛

      December 31, 2011 at 10:48 AM

Leave a Reply

