Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Hey, Good Lookin’

 

*

I went to the Equine Affaire again this year. Last year I took my camera, but I decided against taking it this time. It was just as well … it was cold, windy and threatened to sleet. Overall, this year I spent as little time outside as possible. But last fall I happened upon a man out stretching the legs if this young Gypsy Vanner colt. The colt was quite fresh and was giving the man a hard time. Personally, I think I would have throttled the colt, but the man was willing to put up with a lot more crap than me. The problem with most youngsters is that they’re cute, which means they sometimes get away with all kinds of bad habits. Oh, and the man was a relative rookie horseman. Yikes.

This year I noticed the breed barn was heavy on “pretty” and light on everything else. I guess that reflects our current infatuation and emphasis on anything glamorous and our tenancy to overlook the working class. Interesting, that!

2 responses

  1. Pretty baby. I did a big rework on my minis and got rid of all of the ones I didn’t click with and now just have the wonderful, sweet ones. Makes life so much better. They may not be the prettiest but they are the best!

    November 17, 2011 at 10:56 AM

    • I can overlook a less attractive horse, but I won’t tolerate a snarky one. This little fella had his owners number and was playing him like a song. Cute now, but in another year (when he weights ten times more) it won’t be so funny. As hard as it is to cull a herd I know it’s got to be done and in the end you’ll thank yourself for only keeping the keepers! Thanks for looking!

      November 19, 2011 at 1:20 PM

Leave a Reply

