Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Blue

 

*

It’s incredibly quiet here. For twenty three years I’ve heard the whinny of a horse every time I stepped outside. Now, the silence is deafening. I miss that demanding voice, but most of all I miss Bean’s eyes. Beanie had enormously expressive eyes. He would look at you and you could instantly tell what his mood was. Feisty, full of himself, compassionate, serious …. his eyes were the window to his soul. In the picture above The Bean was feeling blue. I took this shot shortly after I lost Tia and he missed her dearly. I would catch him staring wistfully off into space with a look that made me think he wondered where Tia had gone and  why she’d left him behind. I think he knew it was only a matter of time before he would join her.

I miss the Bean. And although I believe he’s in a better place, my heart aches with his loss. Yesterday I watched Bullet and Dharla gallop down back, manes and tales streaming in the wind, playful kicks thrown here and there as they ran. It made me think of Tia and Bean and how they did the same thing so many years ago. I hope wherever they are they’re together and happy. And once in awhile I hope they think of the life they shared with us …. until we meet again.

10 responses

  1. Beautiful and so very touching. Sending you hugs.

    October 21, 2011 at 11:33 AM

    • Thanks for your support. I know you know firsthand what I’m feeling. With time I’m sure the mood here will improve.

      October 27, 2011 at 9:02 AM

  2. Marc

    Thank you for this post, Cher. Both the picture and the words could stand alone. Together – beautiful

    October 21, 2011 at 11:44 AM

    • Thank you Marc. Sometimes it’s very hard to go back and look at pictures of our loved ones, other times it’s healing. I’m so thankful that I have the few photos I took last year. I know I’ll always cherish them.

      October 27, 2011 at 9:04 AM

  3. h

    Thanks for making me cry on my lunchbreak….. lovely, pic and sentiments…. i like to think of them together…no more sore tummies!
    Love H

    October 21, 2011 at 12:59 PM

    • Sorry. I know you know how I feel. And I agree … it’s a comfort to know they don’t have to struggle anymore. *Sigh* I just wish it wasn’t so damn hard on this end of things.

      October 27, 2011 at 9:06 AM

  4. Chancy, Mumsy and Crew

    Beautiful horse and beautiful eyes. Leaving you lots of hugs and still praying for you.

    October 23, 2011 at 5:56 PM

    • Thank you Mumsey. Your comfort and prayers do make a difference here.

      October 27, 2011 at 9:06 AM

  5. Angie

    we need your pics & commentary in a book

    October 27, 2011 at 8:41 AM

    • Awww. Thanks for the kind words. Sometimes I wonder who the heck would want to read this, but it’s nice to know a few people can relate to some of the things I post. I know I get a lot out of reading other blogs, so I guess it’s not just wasted time and energy. Thanks for coming by and leaving a comment … the support is very uplifting.

      October 27, 2011 at 9:09 AM

Leave a Reply

