Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Abandoned

No matter how long I live I’ll never understand the mentality that leads to homeless, abandoned pets. Every time I encounter a dog like this my heart breaks a little more. Oh sure, this girl is very adoptable and will no doubt (due to the hard work, sacrifice and dedication of a tireless rescue person and group) soon find herself a wonderful home where she can grow up to be the love of someone’s life. But the issue that got her into this mess is what totally and thoroughly pisses me off.

Apathy can’t be solved by manning and funding rescue organizations. Unfortunately, it needs to be stopped at the root of the problem. But every time I try to figure out how this issue got so out of control, my head wants to explode. Meanwhile, people keep trying to save hundreds of thousands of animals that can’t fend for themselves, which is like trying to patch a leaking dike with duct tape. Yes, SOMETHING has to be done, but is rescue solving the problem?  I’m not so sure, given there are more grassroots rescue operations up and running now than ever before, and at some point or another each and every one of them has been overwhelmed with intake overload.

Is it possible the apathetic have been taught think that rescue is plan “B” whenever a pet doesn’t work out for any reason? (And the list of reasons is long and many would make you VERY angry.) In mean, if you KNEW someone would come along and take (rescue) your pet every time something didn’t work out as planned, would it be tempting to use that as your “fall back” plan? In that sense, has rescue helped perpetuate the very problem it strives to fix?

I understand that sometimes a pet turns out to be a bad fit and sometimes life throws a curve ball that we can’t dodge. Without question, in certain situations rescue is absolutely necessity to save the lives of an innocent animal who did nothing to deserve such a fate except be in the wrong place at the wrong time. But discarding pets has become a way of life for some people in certain areas of the country and these people seem perfectly content just to dump their animals at their local high kill “shelter” (an oxymoron if I ever heard one) and let someone else deal with the fallout. I honestly hope there’s a speciial place in Hell for those folks  … and that’s being kind.

I don’t know what the answer is, I only know that the system is broken. There are far too many nice pets who need decent homes and way too many people who think nothing of just letting “the system” handle their mistakes. I don’t know why this sweet, innocent little Kelpie mix was abandoned (or lost) and why nobody even bothered to try to claim her. I lost my dog once and I was frantic for three days. Frantic. Yet nobody thought enough of this cute little girl to try to find her? Shame on them. Really. For shame.

This is a very trusting, kind, energetic, young pup who would think she died and went to heaven if she had her own person to snuggle and kiss. Was it tempting to bring her home? Oh man, you BET  … and I still can’t get her off my mind. But I have two intense, adult herding dogs and I can’t just bring home another young adult without some very serious thought.

Look at that face, that happy, eager-to-please smile, then ask yourself if you could just hand someone the leash and leave this little girl to be gassed?

4 responses

  1. Deb Lavoie

    I’m right with you with every word you spoke! My Chance is the sweetest, gentlest dog I’ve ever known. He was abandoned and found running the streets in Ohio. He went to a kill pound and thankfully, was transferred to a humane society before the third day, when they are euthanized. He spent 3 months in the shelter before I found him and transported him to CT. Not a day goes by that I don’t feel blessed to have him in my life. It amazes me that someone could have thrown such a sweet soul away and never look back. Even after all he’s been through, he still loves people, even the mailman.

    September 15, 2011 at 7:05 PM

  2. Thanks for coming out and visitng and taking some great shots of Genie. I reluctantly brought her over to my main foster home tonite where she will get a lot more one on one time and dogs that will actually play with her and tire her out. My stuffy crew is back to some semblance of normal tonite and altough it was fun to have a puppy around it is a lot of extra work and as you said the last thing I need right now is another strong minded herding dog to work with especially a female…….did I want to keep her……you betcha but thinking with my brain is a better bet than thinking with my heart. 🙂 Hopefully some wonderful person that is familiar with herding dogs and is active and willing to put time and effort into this special little girl will come forward to give her a forever home and place in their heart.

    September 15, 2011 at 7:34 PM

    • I’ve thought about this little cutie so much since I came by … trying in some way to justify adopting her. But you know that like you, I have lots to consider and I wouldn’t jump into it without oodles of thought. In many ways taking a slightly older pup is easier, but in other ways it’s harder, especially with our gang. You just have to stop to consider all the angles.

      Your energy and devotion to this subject always amazes me … you make it look so easy when I know it’s not. And I know your heart gets broken so much more than mine. I watch from the outside and blather on about this and that , but you’re in the trenches trying to do what you can for as many animals as possible. In the seven or so years that I’ve known you, you’ve said several times that you’re burned out, done with rescue. But here you are, soldering on in spite of all the challenges and changes in things. My hat is off to you. There are a lot of happy animals living a good life because you couldn’t stand to sit back and let them die alone and abandoned. Thank you.

      September 15, 2011 at 7:56 PM

  3. It makes me angry, then it makes me cry, Deb. I know what you went through to save Chance and it was way above and beyond what many would have done. But look at the payback … he’s so very special! I swear, abandoned and rehomed animals know deep down in their heart that they were in big trouble and when someone steps in and helps them … they just KNOW. Give Chance a hug for me. I’m sure you tell him every day how much he means to you, but don’t ever stop whispering those sweet words in his ear. You can bet he lives to hear them!

    September 15, 2011 at 7:37 PM

Leave a Reply

