Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Flower Chlid

*

I’m glad I got this picture of Hazer sitting next to a few flowers because tropical storm Irene trashed my gardens. Totally.  I have a few hardy marigolds still standing and a few rugged mums that haven’t bloomed yet, but that’s about it.

Weather-wise, it’s been the worst year I can remember. It started with a huge Jan. 7th snow storm, which arrived only the day after I put Tia to sleep. That storm dumped something like 24 inches of snow on us in several hours, which damaged our roof and caused water leaks in every room along the front of my house. Yes, including a newly renovated kitchen that I patiently waited 23 years to do.

And the snow didn’t stop there, but continued to hammer us for most of January and early February, which led to spring flooding. We finally put a sump pump in our wet basement and listened to it kick on every ten minutes for two months. To say that it rained a little would be a gross understatement. Having bought a new horse in March, I anxiously looked forward to some nice spring days for riding. But the weather didn’t cooperate one bit. It stayed damp and cold right through the end of March and into mid April, when it immediately changed to very windy and wet. I know, because I finally had to bite the bullet and ride my young new horse in some of the most uncomfortably damp, blustery weather ever.

As spring progressed I hoped to get in some pre-summer riding before the bugs and humidity arrived.  Sadly, we had our first heatwave early and the gnats that usually descend on us by mid-June appeared a week sooner. By the time the temp settled back down to a more comfortable zone, the bugs and humidity were here to stay. I passed most of July in the comfort of AC, forced to look out the window at a garden and yard that I couldn’t bring myself to tend. I spent about an hour every morning or evening trying desperately to catch up on tasks that required far more time or energy than I had to give. Despite the little effort I put out, I marvel that I had such a nice gardens at all. In fact, I’ve been so inundated with tomatoes that I’m about ready to start handing little brown goodie bags to strangers!

After surviving Irene I’m psyched for some nice fall riding. Dharla and I have been out in the woods once since the storm and it’s pretty messy, but I think we can handle it if we pick and choose our trail carefully. That said, I’m about to enter the second of three or four (predicted) days of rain. Heavy at times. Yeah, like that’s anything new? I just hope this isn’t going to become a pattern for the next two months!

2 responses

  1. Identify with your exasperation as our weather this year on the other side of the Atlantic (SW France) has been so difficult for the horses and the garden. We’re running out of things to do with tomatos too, and are encouraging friends to come and help harvest. Great year for all fruit, enough to bring down boughs; horses are loving extra apples, pears and figs (in moderation)! Love the monarda in your pic, ours always got blighted by mildew. Hope you get a better Autumn for riding Dharla – your photos have been inspirational, whatever the weather!

    September 7, 2011 at 1:50 PM

  2. We have a couple of apple trees that border our paddock and they drive the horses crazy. I enjoy sharing them with the boys, but Dharla doesn’t see very interested in any sort of treats …. apples, carrots … none of that does anything for her. I suspect she was never allowed treats as a baby, which is good on one hand I suppose, but I think she’d really enjoy a treat every now and then. The boys more than make up for her disinterest though, and my dogs do too … they LOVE all the apples! Thanks for the kind words on my photos. I’ll have to try to get more of Dharla again soon!

    September 11, 2011 at 11:39 AM

Leave a Reply

