Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Drying Out

*

This might be the theme of  the tune I’ll be singing over the next few days. Or so they tell us. We’re in the path of Irene and supposed to take a direct hit. But I think she’s going to lose some of her punch by the time she reaches us. I hope. That said, I’ve spent the last 24-hours working my tail off to make sure we have as much stuff stored or anchored down as possible. That’s no an easy task on a farm. And you can bet I’ll worry about the horses no matter how many precautions we take.

I was hoping to get back and take more pictures of the tobacco drying in the barns, but I’m not even sure if they’ll take a chance and leave this year’s crop hanging up to dry. I know they’ve been working overtime to get as much tobacco harvested as possible before we get the monsoon rains that will accompany Irene. So this might be all the luck I’ll have with this subject. Oh well. Maybe I’ll have better luck next year?

2 responses

  1. I love the weathered wood of the barn with the strips of light shining through onto the tabacco!! Great shot!!

    August 29, 2011 at 2:58 PM

    • I happen to love weathered barn wood too! That must be part of the reason why I so like shooting barn scenes, though I often like painted barns just as much as natural ones. Thanks for dropping by! (Sorry for the delay in my response … I was without Internet for a week!)

      September 4, 2011 at 11:42 AM

Leave a Reply

