Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Stained Glass

*

My two butterfly bushes always attract an assortment of butterflies, but yesterday was the first time I’ve ever seen a Monarch on one of them! I just happened to be out working in the garden when I noticed this little guy, and ran to get my camera. No dogs knocked me off my feet and I was very happy to see he was still there when I came back with my camera in hand! Monarch wings make me think of stained glass windows. I did a little research to make sure this was a Monarch and not a Viceroy, but it’s not; it’s the real McCoy! Do you ever see Monarchs where you live?

6 responses

  1. Marc

    Aptly titled! A friend of mine has a gargantuan butterfly bush and when I remember I bring along my camera to take a few pics of these amazingly beautiful and intricately drawn creatures. But I have not seen any Monarch’s…judging from the few pics I’ve saved. There is no doubt in my mind that these butterflies were the inspiration for stained glass. Good one, Cheryl…

    August 19, 2011 at 10:08 AM

    • I don’t know why I don’t seem to see more Monarchs. Growing up they were as common as could be. I was pretty excited to catch this one before it moved on. I’m sure they’re getting ready to migrate about now. Thanks for dropping by!

      August 20, 2011 at 2:35 PM

  2. Mumsy, Chancy and Crew

    We have butterflies of this color but I have never checked to see if they are viceroy or monarch. I will be checking from now on though. Beautiful shot! Hugs

    August 19, 2011 at 4:40 PM

    • It’s very hard to tell (during flight) if you’re seeing a Viceroy or a Monarch. The Viceroy really mimics the color pattern of the Monarch! I knew this as a butterfly-catching child, but I’d forgotten it until now! Hope you see lots of both!

      August 20, 2011 at 2:40 PM

  3. Terrific capture, Cheryl. The butterfly is so sharp and clean. Are you sharing your work anywhere other than your blog?

    August 20, 2011 at 3:58 PM

  4. Thanks Wayne! No, this is pretty much it for shares. My photography club is having a showing in September. We can enter ONE photo. One. I get nauseous just thinking about picking one photo. I mean, I shoot such a variety of things! But that will be my first public gig. Sometimes I post on Mike Moat’s macro board, but I go in spurts.

    August 20, 2011 at 4:38 PM

Leave a Reply

