Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Bed Head

*

I caught this little guy early in the morning, before he was fully awake. Like a drunk trying to shake off a bender, he was trying to dry out from a heavy morning dew.

*

On another note, this is my 300th post to my blog. Who woulda thunk? I recently received word that my photography club is having a showing in September. My first reaction was to ponder if I should even consider entering. I mean, there are rules … and I so hate rules. After working my way through that conundrum I decided I would buck up and enter something. But what? I can’t imagine trying to select a handful of my favorite shots. And another quandary is that what I like is never what anyone else seems to like! One of the rules is that you have to call the person in charge by a certain date and make a commitment, so in the process of doing that I learned that each person will probably only get to enter one photo. ONE? Are you kidding? Well, it’s a big club and if everyone submits three or four photos it will be too big.

So now I get to decide which photo, out of the thousands I have taken, best represent my work. Good grief! If anyone feels moved to voice an opinion I’m willing to listen!

6 responses

  1. Fist may I recommend that you don’t sweat over it so much. Relax. You could do one of 3 things, 1) pck your favorite and don’t worry about the fact that what you like is different from what everyone likes. 2) Narrow it down to a handful of shots and get feedback from friends/family or 3) Go with a shot you like, havent shown to many people and want to see what the feedback is.
    Since you are nervous and this is your first (I’m assuming) I would recommend option 1 or 2 but most of all I recommend that you don’t let it stress you. Your work is awesome, other people will agree. I’ve been showing my work for a little bit now and can tell you that peoples perspectives are greatly different. Its so very interesting. 2 of my good friends told me one of my pictures was “eh” ok, doesn’t do anything for them, but when I show it, it’s one of my most pospular. Its often the subject that people like as much as it is the photography, if you put the 2 together you hav e a winning shot

    August 12, 2011 at 7:47 AM

    • Great suggestions, all! You’re right, this is my first showing and I’m a little nervous. I know I can’t please everyone, but I’d like to pick something that has some general appeal. I think photographers are artists and artists tend to like … well, more ‘artsy’ shots. Other people (read as: non-artists) tend to prefer more concrete things like pictures of stuff they can relate to. Frogs, birds, a landscape that reminds them of home. Subjects like that. Nothing wrong there, but that’s not usually where I go first. I know you know what I mean!

      I’m looking forward to this. I have a few weeks to think about my selection and I’ll blog it when I decide!

      August 13, 2011 at 2:41 PM

  2. Cindy Wiech

    enter one of your horse shots….IMHO

    August 12, 2011 at 8:06 AM

    • One of my horse photos is already in strong contention! I’ll try to narrow it down to a half dozen, then go from there. Thanks for your vote!

      August 13, 2011 at 2:42 PM

  3. h

    Enter “They’re Back”, I think that the composition and color of that little green guy are absolute;y amazing…. I LOVE sooo many of your pictures, but that one is a standout, because it’s different. Just my gut talking!

    August 12, 2011 at 8:15 AM

    • I’m so surprised when people like insect and bug photos. Perhaps some of their appeal is that it offers a safe way to observe the color and detail that we don’t want to get up close and personal to observe in real life! Thanks for your input!

      August 13, 2011 at 2:46 PM

Leave a Reply

