Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

They’re Back

*

The signs that signal the end of the summer are showing up one by one. First, the Cicadas started buzzing. Then the Rose of Sharon bloomed. Now the hummingbirds are feeding like it’s their last supper and the Tiger Swallowtail caterpillars are here. It’s noticeably darker a bit earlier and the nights have been a bit cooler. Since July was such a bear it would be great if August turned out to be a nice month. Hopefully, I can begin to ride again soon. I’ve had enough of waiting around for the heat and humidity to pass.

10 responses

  1. Marc

    Technically speaking, that is about the coolest picture I’ve ever seen. Talk about creative camouflage! Right down to the specks of yellow in her back perfectly matching the yellow at the beginning and end of the stem she’s on.

    Great clarity, contrast, color, subject, picture.

    August 4, 2011 at 9:57 AM

    • Thanks! I probably take these little critters for granted, though I do specifically plant fennel and/or dill just so they will have a nice spot to feed, which also insures I get an equally good spot to observe them.

      August 6, 2011 at 8:32 AM

  2. Ditto on everything you said. Guess I’ll have to check my dill and parsley out back since the sun isn’t shining today :)! Very nice macro shot–the green shades are great.

    August 4, 2011 at 1:27 PM

    • Thanks for the kind words. Do check your dill often … these guys were no where to be found one day, then I had about five or six of them the very next day!

      August 6, 2011 at 8:33 AM

  3. Oh please don’t remind me!! We haven’t even had summer yet and our winters are soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo long!! Really nice photo though. I hope you get riding again soon too!!

    August 4, 2011 at 1:35 PM

    • Ug … still not riding. It’s killing me! The bugs have been SO bad this summer. I’m not one to look forward to winter, but I wouldn’t mind if fall came a bit early this year and stuck around a little longer! Thanks for dropping by!

      August 6, 2011 at 8:36 AM

  4. That is an amazing picture, just beautiful! I have seen no signs of the coming fall around here but believe me I am sure ready for some cooler weather. Hugs

    August 4, 2011 at 7:23 PM

    • Thanks Mumsy! Cooler sounds great to me too!

      August 6, 2011 at 8:36 AM

  5. Wow, that’s a fantastic picture! How did you even find him?

    August 5, 2011 at 10:16 AM

  6. Well, I knew they would probably show up at some point or another. Fennel and dill are a main staple in their diet. I planted both last summer and got an unexpected visit last year so I just assumed it would happen again. Thing is, you forget to look for them and they blend in so well that I almost missed them this year! Oh, and they come in all sizes. Some are pretty large while others are much smaller. Glad you found them interesting.

    August 6, 2011 at 8:40 AM

Leave a Reply

