Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Companions

*

My dogs are my constant companions when I’m outdoors. I know I seldom show pictures of Neena, but she’s not one to park her carcass anywhere for very long, making it hard to get a good shot. If I try to pose her, she usually ends up looking like she swallowed a bug. So I take lots of pictures of Hazer, who loves hanging out with me and is much easier to pose. In fact, he can be so laid back that I have to practically stand on my head to get pictures with his eyes fully open. He’s one of those dogs who is either “on” or “off.” Let’s just say I have lots of pictures of him with his eyes half closed!

Today we were out getting some early morning shots of  Cleome and Tiger Swallow caterpillars. At one point I heard something behind me and turned to see Hazer perched on a large bolder. I told him to stay put, then swung my camera around (on a tripod) and fired off a bunch of shots of him. I happened to be using my 90mm macro lens, which I’ve discovered is a wonderful portrait lens as well, so I was pleased to have an impromptu opportunity to shoot Captain Quirk. Along with flowers and wildlife, Hazer is one of my very favorite subjects to shoot. I never tire of photographing this handsome red boy. His expression always melts my heart.

*

*

*

*

*

3 responses

  1. Marc

    The first pic of Neena is so wonderful. We watch our companions in their everyday activities and think: getting a great picture will be so easy – and it’s really so difficult. That’s a keeper, Cher.

    August 3, 2011 at 11:38 AM

  2. Amazing pictures!!! You are terrific with a camera. Hugs

    August 3, 2011 at 12:27 PM

  3. I agree, great shots

    August 4, 2011 at 7:48 PM

Leave a Reply

