Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Conehead

*

OK, so I finally caved and decided to learn how to use my remote control. How hard can that be, you ask? Well, first you have to remember I’m tech challenged. Very. Second, I bought a remote with way more features than I’ll ever need to use in my lifetime, especially since I’m not inclined to sit down and figure out how everything works. But I haven’t been happy with the way some of my pictures have been turning out,  so after going through a little check list that was provided by a photographer much better than myself, I decided to see if my trigger finger was part of the problem.

Ah-ha!

*

And on another note: I’d like to say a big huge thanks to all the wonderful folks who check here regularly and leave such nice comments. I’ve been shooting and blogging regularly for about a year now, and I’m really amazed by the absolute strangers who pop by to say such encouraging and helpful things about my photography. I feel so blessed to receive such thoughtful, uplifting remarks about something I was pretty hesitant to share initially. I don’t do photography for a living and I sure as heck don’t do it for attention or praise, but I’m very humbled to think a handful of people actually come here regularly and say nice things about my results. I try to respond to every comment, but sometimes other stuff gets in the way and I miss a few posts here or there. Please know that I do read and cherish every comment and I always look forward to the advice that others might like to share!

5 responses

  1. Marc

    Your title, “Conehead” sure got my attention. I jumped on it right away, wondering how you got Dan Akroyd to pose for a picture.

    That said, I wasn’t disappointed. That remote seems to be working quite nicely. I use mine (which is a remarkably simple, stone age device) when attempting astrophotos. No shake needed there, especially when trying to compensate for flying through space on this planet covering about 54,000 miles in hour.

    The green background is lush, the flower – a great centerpiece. Yep, I like this one. Over the weekend, I was telling a friend of mine who fancies himself a fledgling photographer about your post/pictures. Many are, obviously, noteworthy. As much as you appreciate your followers, I, for one, always look forward to your pics and comments, which sometimes equal the subject matter! Thanks for the work you’re putting into this…

    June 22, 2011 at 12:37 PM

    • Thanks Marc! I really enjoy the feedback, without the stress of it making me feel like i have to produce better and better work. I do try to improve my skills, but I also try to remember to take pictures to record a specific memory or moment and the heck with trying to create something artistic!

      June 24, 2011 at 11:28 AM

  2. FUnny you post about this… I just grabbed my remote the other day to use during a video of Luna.. only to find out the batteries are dead. I bought it initially as a means to lock the shutter open for time lapse night photos… but it has come in handy for self portraits, as well as what you’ve done here, flowers. It’s amazing how much a little bump with the finger can throw things off. Great DOF and color in this one. Makes me miss all the flowers I had to shoot at my parents… almost makes me want to attempt to grow some myself.
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

    June 22, 2011 at 3:57 PM

    • You’re right about how much the remote helps and I was just being stubborn about having to sit down and learn how to use (yet) another gadget. That said, I haven’t begun to learn all the capabilities of the remote I bought, but at least I can use it to take a couple of quick pictures without having to re-read the directions! (I’m a “just show me” kind of learner, as opposed to a “read all about it” one!)

      June 24, 2011 at 11:32 AM

  3. Beautiful!! I have a remote too and it is still in the packaging! I think I will have to pull it out and learn how to use it. Great job!!

    July 8, 2011 at 10:18 AM

Leave a Reply

