Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Too Blue

*

We’ve had so much rain that plants are starting to become waterlogged. Only plants that are made to grow in standing water are doing well, like these purple-blue spiderwort. You can’t do much to hurt this flower unless you plant it in a dry, sunny spot. They thrive in damp, dark places, which I seem to have in abundance this summer. Unfortunately, they also spread and can be very difficult to eradicate once they begin to encroach on other plants and flowers. I have a large clump of spiderwort that I’ve tried to relocate twice, and every year a few shoots come back in the old spot. If I don’t get right on them, I’m right back where I started a year or two later with a huge clump that needs to be removed again!  Still, I like them because they require little maintenance and their pretty blossoms brighten a dark spot.

On another note, all this rain is getting a bit depressing. I know I shouldn’t complain … a few bad snowstorms aside, we’ve been luckier than most. But still. We had virtually no spring and our summer is looking pretty dismal so far. I hope things will start to improve soon!

*

P.S. This is my camera’s one-year anniversary! Hard to believe I was someone who never even tried to take pictures with a point and shoot! It’s been a great journey and I’m VERY hooked on this hobby … even though the learning curve is a real doozie!

7 responses

  1. h

    Love this picture! The color is great! wish I had time to take pics…someday…. You are doing splendidly with it, however and I always look forward to your pics!! This one made my morning! Off to work now!
    H

    June 18, 2011 at 9:02 AM

    • Glad you liked it!

      June 19, 2011 at 10:03 PM

  2. Thanks, for sharing your beautiful flowers. I have none since it is so hot and dry here. Wish you could share some rain and I could share some heat. Hugs

    June 18, 2011 at 12:42 PM

    • Heat I can do without! Rain too! This has been an unusually wet spring and start to summer in the north east. Still, it’s been better than other places and I probably shouldn’t complain. But what fun is that? 😉

      June 19, 2011 at 10:04 PM

  3. Nice detail, Cheryl.

    June 18, 2011 at 4:46 PM

    • Thanks Wayne! Sometimes I just luck out!

      June 19, 2011 at 10:05 PM

  4. Very beautiful flower!!

    June 20, 2011 at 11:53 AM

Leave a Reply

