Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Garden Art

*

My recent fascination with garden art must be a symptom of the aging process. It started about a year ago; I suddenly fixated on getting a gazing ball for my garden. I browsed through piles of gardening catalogs hoping to find just the right thing, but I never went so far as to actually purchase one. See, I’m generally not a shopper. With very little effort I can talk myself out of buying just about anything. Oh, I might enjoy thinking about buying something and I really like doing the research, but when it comes down to actually making a purchase ….. well, let’s just say I’m not easily parted from my money.

*

But a few weeks back when a friend and I did a little day trip to the Brimfield (MA) antique show and I was quickly overwhelmed with the assortment of eclectic yard and garden art. I was nearly beside myself trying to decide if I should buy something, and if so, what? A few posts back I blogged about the metal horse sculpture that I got. Being both whimsical and reasonably priced, that purchase was pretty much a no-brainer. But hours later as my friend and I started our trek back to the car we happened upon a vendor who was about to demonstrate how his garden sprinklers worked. A small audience of several women stood to the side as the vendor dragged a water hose across the isle and attached it to one of several different copper creations that lined the edge of the alley. He waited a moment as passers-by cleared the isle, then turned the water on. The top of the sprinkler began to spin, spraying water in every direction. As the unit spun, it created a unique and mesmerizing pattern of spray. Fashion AND function … what could be better? I knew right then that I had to have one!

*

I looked at all the different designs and finally settled on the one above. I liked the little orange balls and I knew they would look pretty when the morning sun hit them. The pipes have small piercings in them and the water shoots out in all different directions as the top spins. I took the sculpture home, put the top and the pole together and hooked it up to my garden hose. We’ve had so much rain this spring that I’ve hardly had the opportunity to use it as a sprinkler, but it’s so unique that I’m enjoying it, whether it’s functional or just an eclectic adornment in my garden.

*

Detail

2 responses

  1. h

    Very cool!!
    okay, now I wanna see it in action….

    Love the way it looks and it looks like the spiders like the artwork as well!!! (not that I enjoy spiders….but the webs are cool!!)
    H

    June 5, 2011 at 12:13 PM

    • I was thinking the same thing … an action shot might be in order! I’ll have to post it when I take one!

      June 8, 2011 at 1:10 PM

Leave a Reply

