Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Nifty Fifty

*

Well, my husband finally turned fifty. It’s about time. Almost all of his friends have experienced this rite of passage and so it only stands to reason that they’d want to throw a little celebration so they could rib him about it. The plan was that Randy and Aldo would head out for their usual Friday evening ride. Easy enough, since grabbing a Friday night ride is their norm whenever they can. And  sometimes that ride includes making a large loop and stopping at various friends houses along the way. Well, to hear some tell it mooching a beer is more the purpose of their visit than anything else. But the fact is, suggesting they stop by Jake’s for a beer wouldn’t raise any suspicions. None whatsoever.

*

*

Huh? Is there something going on at Jake’s? Hey, let’s just ride in and find out ….

*

*

Wait a minute there ……

*

*

I think this shindig is for ME! Oh crap! Ya got me!

*

*

Out comes the honorary birthday hat. Yes, the one you laughed at when everyone else had to wear it!

*

*

As always, he’s a good sport!

*

*

*

Lynn and Randy got the horses squared away so the party boy could just relax. (At dusk I rode Bullet up the hill with Randy and Rocky, then came back to the party)

*

*

Good times, good friends!

*

*

*

It got dark fast though. After we ate I left to take Bullet back home. When I got back: Best. Cake. Ever.

*

*

This was by far the yummiest cake I’ve ever had!  A one-of-a-kind creation like this normally takes two to three weeks notice to make, but Hope whipped this up with less than 48 hours notice! She rocks! Thanks to A Little Imagination Cakes for going that extra mile to help us celebrate this fun occasion!

Later, Aldo’s real acoustic guitar came out and everyone talked him into playing around the campfire. I’m still amazed that this quiet, say-it-in-three-sentences-or-less man will actually play a guitar and sing in front of an audience, but he will and he did. it was a lot of fun. The guys really came through and did a nice party for Aldo. I’m very touched and I know he feels blessed to have such a great group of friends.

So happy fiftieth birthday, Aldo … it’s all downhill from here! 😉

*

P.S. I apologize for the poor quality of most of these pictures … I don’t shoot people very often and it shows!

2 responses

  1. I love it!! Looks like a great party and I love the cake!! That would be right up my hubby’s alley! Happy Birthday Aldo!

    June 4, 2011 at 10:53 AM

  2. Happy Birthday to your husband! I think the pics are great, and the horses are so pretty! Love the cake!

    June 4, 2011 at 7:40 PM

Leave a Reply

