Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Green Giant

*

*

This Jack-In-The-Pulpit is HUGE! It’s hard to tell from this picture, but the leaves are gigantic … like baby elephant ears! I took this shot when the morning light was just starting to peek through the branches of a nearby cedar. The filtered sunlight made the green really pop. I love wildflowers and I try  to let them have their way on my landscape, but Jack-In-The-Pulpit is so prolific here that I sometimes have to cull them. It always amazes me how certain ones grow so big while others stay more modest in size. I’m not sure why, other than the obvious answer that some spots are probably just better growing locations than others. Our pond and streams attract a few different species of turtles, which eat the bright red seeds of the Jack and help spread them. I guess the turtles have been doing their job … we have lots of Jack-In-The-Pulpit coming up in every nook and cranny around here.

Today, in memory of my veteran father I will be planting my first small veggie garden in 14 years. This used to be a yearly spring rite that Dad instilled in our family, but I all but abandoned vegetable gardening after spinal surgery made the task too challenging. However, my husband has built me a (somewhat) raised bed that, with the help of a small stool, should be fairly manageable. And I’m not going to go nuts like I used to, planting a half dozen or so of everything I can think of. Instead, this will begin as a small project. It will be a tentative trial, an attempt to step back into time and resurrect a much missed ritual. So on behalf of my father, who (along with my mother) taught me to love the land and soil that he fought to protect, I wish everyone a safe and sacred Memorial Day.

*

May 27, 2011 7:37 AM EST.

Canon EOS 7D

ISO:160, 90mm, 1/13 sec, f/8.0

Lightroom: small crop, minor brightness/contrast adj.

2 responses

  1. Just beautiful!! I agree about the popping green and I love the stones behind it!! Fantastic job!!!

    May 30, 2011 at 12:05 PM

    • Thanks! I really love the contrasts in this shot too! Glad you enjoyed it!

      June 1, 2011 at 4:00 PM

Leave a Reply

