Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Grapes Of Wrath

*

OK, that sounds a bit over-dramatic! I was out taking pictures yesterday morning and I decided to tinker with using different apertures. Unfortunately, a bit of a breeze was starting up and I had to work fast. I didn’t strive to keep the camera in the exact same spot for every picture (boring) but I did use the same subject for each picture. Later, when I sat down to process what I’d shot I had a hard time deciding which picture I liked best. I guess it all depends upon your mood at the moment. Not all of the pictures are what I’d consider a great composition, but in the limited amount of time I had it was fun to play around.

Above: f 3.5, 1/250 sec, 90mm, ISO 160

*

*

Above: f/4.5, 1/80 sec.

*

*

Above: f/8.0, 1/20 sec.

*

*

Above: f/11, 1/23 sec.

*

*

Above: f/14, 1/8 sec.

*

*

Above: f/32, 0.6 sec.

Which composition do you prefer? Can you pinpoint why?

3 responses

  1. Marc

    Finally putting us to work, eh? I’ll be interested in seeing what others say. I’m partial to the f/11 1/23 picture. The primary object is a bit crisper, a skootch more defined, hinting at a slightly greater vibrancy. And I prefer the grapes of wrath in the background to be blurred – It acts as a nifty mirror image – of sorts. Thusly, f/11 1/23. By a nose, however, to use a horse metaphor.

    April 27, 2011 at 9:53 AM

  2. Sorry about the big ugly stick in the last two photos! I actually took those two shots first, then pulled the distracting stick out of the frame. So I probably should have retaken those first two compositions again (minus the sticks). But the wind was getting too strong (it doesn’t take much with most flowers) and it was futile to even try.

    April 27, 2011 at 10:12 AM

  3. I like that one too, only I was going to call it “the one with the blurry one in back” because I’m not a photographer. 🙂 It looks cool, and it makes it look like something’s happening there that we don’t know about, like we walked in in the middle of a story.

    April 27, 2011 at 8:27 PM

Leave a Reply

