Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Growth

Growth comes in all shapes and forms, like a new plant, a new season, a new experience.  Today I had my first English riding lesson. It was a lot of fun and I know I’m going to enjoy this experience. I’ve ridden Western all my life and it hasn’t been until now that I’ve had any reason or desire to learn anything else. But Dharla is more of a sport horse, which opens up some new doors for me. I think it will be helpful to expand my learning curve and skills so I can continue to grow with her and help her learn new things. My only fear is that my enthusiasm might head south when it gets warm. I’m slated for an early morning lesson, so that should help some. I really like the instructor and the barn is only a few miles from home, which is a growing concern with the rising price of gas. Heck, I could even ride my bike there if I really wanted.

Above, the fuzzy new leaves of a perennial poke through the bank of a stream.

April 10, 2011 9:45 AM EST

Canon EOS 7D

ISO: 100, 90mm, 1/13 sec, f/11

Lightroom3: Minor crop, brightness/contrast adj.

2 responses

  1. Marc

    I’m trying to catch my breath! English? You’re taking early morning English riding lessons? No one can accuse you of being change-aversive! This picture is so lively. It made me think of “Little Shop of Horrors.” This plant looks like it could talk, if it had the mind…

    Fun picture. Congrats on the riding lessons. Sheesh Louise…English…

    April 19, 2011 at 1:54 PM

    • Yup, English! It will be really good for me, too. I’m not sure what direction I’ll end up going with Dharla, but it’s not so much about her as it is about me. I think it learning something new will improve my skills and help me communicate better with her. We’ll see how it goes … I’ll keep you posted. Oh, and FWIW, I started a book blog … the link is on my book page…

      April 19, 2011 at 3:30 PM

Leave a Reply

