Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

A Little Blue

 

 

After an entire month of wind I finally got a brief window of opportunity to get out and shoot something without having to battle a stiff, steady breeze. That said, the air was moving just enough to make getting this photo a challenge. It doesn’t take much air to move the tender stems of these little flowers. I think they’re called Bluets, or something like that. This intense carpet of blue pops up all over my yard quite soon after the snow melts, even before tulips or daffodils can sprout and open. And yes, I had to lay on my stomach on the wet ground to get this shot. The things I’ll suffer for my soup …. er, hobbty!

April 7, 2011 9:57 AM EST

Canon EOS 7D

ISO: 200, 90mm, 1/800 sec, f/2.8

Lens: Tamron 90mm

Lightroom3: Contrast adj

5 responses

  1. Beautiful photo. Love the detail.

    April 7, 2011 at 11:30 AM

    • Thanks, glad you liked it!

      April 8, 2011 at 9:16 AM

  2. i really like the color and saturation, but am a bit torn by the overall image. The detail of the buds is terrific, but the larger blossom on the lower left being not quite in focus (and I understand why) distracts my eye.

    April 7, 2011 at 1:17 PM

    • I agree, Wayne. It was not the best photo, but it was the best of what I got from that angle. I toyed with blogging the same picture taken from a slightly different angle and f-stop, but I decided on this instead. Good macro can be MUCH harder than it seems. It doesn’t help that the head of my tripod is 100% wrong for shooting anything really close to the ground. When I rectify that I think my attempts at macro will improve, but I can’t run out and drop a bunch of coin on another ball head and plate right now.

      Thanks for looking and posting your thoughts … it keeps me on my toes! 🙂

      April 8, 2011 at 9:21 AM

  3. h

    Ahh….my favorite color! very pretty!

    April 7, 2011 at 6:30 PM

Leave a Reply

