Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Back From Macro Land

 

 

 

I just got back from a Mike Moats Macro Boot Camp. My head feels like it’s going to explode from all the info and tips Mike shared with us. I came home from the weekend with a much better understanding of how to do macro photography and a lot more respect for the photographers who do it so well. They make sound MUCH easier than it really is. In fact, I think marco photography is harder to do than some of the other stuff I’ve tried so far. But macro is exciting and once you start to get a few good results its addicting! So when spring decides to advance (it’s going to come any day now, right?) you can expect to see a smattering of my attempts to do some macro photography. I’ll try not to screw it up too badly!

 

March 26, 2011 3:38 PM EST.

Canon EOS 7D

ISO:200, 90mm, 0.6 sec, f/29

LENS: Tamron 90mm

8 responses

  1. h

    Very cool! Glad you enjoyed it!

    March 27, 2011 at 7:39 PM

    • I had a great time and learned so much that my head wants to explode! Glad you liked this … the shell photos were probably some of my best from the weekend.

      March 28, 2011 at 9:08 PM

  2. love the comp of this one. there is so much that could be done with this. I hope to get back into my macro this spring too.. somehow. Guess I might need to start growing my own flowers.
    have fun, I look forward to your macro
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

    March 27, 2011 at 7:40 PM

    • If you ever have an opportunity to attend a macro workshop you should try to go. This was a great experience and a lot of fun! Thanks for the comments!

      March 28, 2011 at 9:09 PM

  3. Marc

    But wait! Tell me something about this extraordinary picture. It reminds me so much of a spiraling staircase (as viewed from above) I saw in a Barcelona apartment building designed by Gaudi. I guess this is the inner workings of a flower, eh? Who said, “There is no better architect than Nature.”?

    Great picture, Cheryl, and sounds like you have a lot to digest. (How come it’s called ‘macro’ when I would think it would be called ‘micro’? Is it because it’s about little things being made grande?)

    March 27, 2011 at 10:06 PM

    • This was a Nautilus shell. IMO, one of the easier things I tried to shoot that day. Flowers …. VERY challenging. In this shot I was experimenting with hand-holding a very bright LED light. We were shooting inside and the lighting was (otherwise) poor. I found the contours of the shell were accentuated by using the LED light.

      FWIW, micro is even more minute …. think: pictures that showcase the hundreds of facets of a bugs eye or bees with bulging pollen sacks that look like mountains. In contrast, a dedicated macro lens maintains a 1:1 ratio, which means (gosh, I hope I’m getting this right) when you’re as close as the lens will let you get and still focus, you’re at a 1:1 ratio. That means the resulting photo is a life sized image. When you shoot micro, you’re magnifying the subject and no longer shooting 1:1. When you crop a shot to bring something in an image up close, you’re not actually projecting a 1:1 image anymore. Or so I understand. For now, that will have to suffice as my simple answer!

      March 28, 2011 at 9:25 PM

  4. What a cool photograph, Cheryl! You have to pursue this macro photography, This is truly an art form, and this picture is one of my favorites that you’ve posted. I can’t wait to hear more about the workshop. If you have some free time tomorrow morning, I will be home. Give me a shout? Talk soon, either way. xo

    March 27, 2011 at 10:20 PM

    • I’m glad you like this … it turns out the series of shell photos were my favorite too! It was a great workshop I came home with lots to think about and I can’t wait to put things to practice in the coming weeks as spring advances! Stay tuned!

      March 28, 2011 at 9:28 PM

Leave a Reply

