Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Flashback

 

 

The light and footing have been abysmal so I’ll have to be content blogging yet another photo from last summer. It’s been frustrating to have so many limits on where I can walk, which goes to show how much I take for granted that I can just grab my camera and go find something interesting to shoot on or near my property. Hopefully, the next few warm days will do a bit to improve the limitations that have been imposed since the first week in Jan. There are still very few places (of interest) where you can pull off the road and take pictures. Snowbanks have made the roads so narrow that it will be awhile before I’ll be able to do that again. Several of the access roads to local parks have been closed since the first cataclysmic storm hit over a month ago and it’s unlikely I’ll be able to venture into those spots until spring. So much for taking great winter landscapes I guess.

 

 

July 9, 2010. 5:00 PM EST.

Canon EOS 7D

ISO: 200, 85mm, 1/320 sec, f/4.5

Lens: Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

Lightroom 3: Crop, minor Brightness/Contrast adj.

4 responses

  1. Marc

    Who among us hasn’t taken pictures of these beautiful creatures? I have one shot I’m generally pleased with, but there’s nothing I don’t like about your post today, Cheryl. (Sorry about that double negative.) The colors, the focus points, how it’s framed, and the overall vibrancy it conveys. The two yellow points on its wings, and the change in color immediately under its wings are added attractions. Suitable for framing, this one!

    February 16, 2011 at 11:00 AM

    • I liked it too, Marc! I get tons of opportunities to shoot Swallowtails. They come in droves and love my gardens and butterfly bushes. I probably take that a little for granted sometimes, but I do enjoy them! Glad you liked this too!

      February 17, 2011 at 9:44 AM

  2. Great colors to the shot. Something about the composition bugs me. Maybe it’s how horizontal the butterfly is.. And I’m used to seeing them more upright. A possible turned crop may help. But it’s your shot. I just don’t feel the horizontal position leads the eye as much as everything else about the shot could.

    Enjoy digging into your archives, I could get lost in mine
    Anna

    February 16, 2011 at 1:59 PM

  3. Interesting point! The branches on a Butterfly bush tend to reach up and out. If I turned the orientation so that the butterfly was pointing up, then the branches nearby would be pointing down. I think that might look odd, especially since the buds are pointing up toward the sun. I simply focused on the butterfly and made sure the crop captured the whole blossom for balance. Ideally, I wanted to eliminate some of the dead space in the upper right quadrant, but I couldn’t. Perhaps if I hadn’t cropped this would have looked more natural to you, but I wanted to show the details in the Swallowtail and the blossom.

    Thanks for your comment …. it keeps me thinking!

    February 17, 2011 at 9:56 AM

Leave a Reply

