Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Reflections

I read somewhere that it’s a good idea to go back through your photo catalogs every now and then. It never hurts to review your progress. And who knows …. you just might find a few gems buried in your files. I remember when I took the pictures on this page. It was a blustery fall day and I was trying very hard to focus on a feather that was caught on the lower limb of a small shrub. I didn’t have a tripod and there was far too much wind to get a really good picture. But I didn’t know that then, and I was determined to come away with something. I struggled for the better part of an hour, until my upper back was exhausted from crouching in an awkward position and my arms were trembling from supporting the heavy lens. I ran inside several times to download my pictures, but each time I found fault with my results. I went back outside again and again, to try to capture that “perfect” shot.

 

I hope I’ve learned a bit more since then, but I honestly think some of my best photos were taken when I didn’t know the first thing about photography. I didn’t over think things, I just went with the flow. Sometimes I’ll look at an older picture and wince. I’ll say to myself, “I should have done X, Y, Z …” But other times I’m pleasantly surprised by what I managed to capture in spite of my limited knowledge and experience.

 

These pictures are not “perfect” nor do they need to be. Every time I look at them I’m reminded that enthusiasm, excitement and a hefty dose of determination can create an acceptable and memorable result.

 

Top Photo:

September 14, 2010.  10:14 AM. EST.

Canon EOS 7D

ISO: 250, 169mm, 1/1250 sec, f/2.8

Lens” Tamron 70-200mm

iPhoto Edit: Crop, minor brightness/contrast adjustment

Bottom Photo:

September 14, 2010. 10:55 AM. EST

Canon EOS 7D

ISO: 250, 70mm, 1/320 sec, f/2.8.

iPhoto Edit: Crop, minor brightness/contrast adjustment.

Leave a Reply

