Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Abandoned

 

Well, it looks and feels more like winter than it has the last few years. Today it was five below (zero) at 7 AM, which means the chances of my going out to shoot a sunrise is rather unlikely. There was a gorgeous sky this morning, but I don’t have what it takes to be out in this kind of weather. Maybe ten or fifteen years ago, but not anymore. Yes all you exercise fanatics, keep pounding away at the gym and in a decade or so you too, can be crippled! Yeah. Your personal trainer won’t tell you that when you sign up, but it’s true. Of course, you don’t think that will happen to you, but it can. And (often) does. Hindsight is 20/20!

 

But I digress …

 

After I took this picture I had to dig out the extension ladder (Literally: it was buried under two feet of snow!) and start clearing snow off the edge of the roof.  The gutters are frozen solid and melting snow can refreeze and start to back up under the shingles. This can result in a huge mess, forcing water to leak into the house behind the soffit. Mind you, I’ve never had this happen, but I know people who have. I recently did an extensive kitchen remodel, so I’m a bit freaked out if there’s even a remote possibility of water damage. Ironically, as I went about this chore I was bemoaning the fact that I was having a tough time finding the perfect place to shoot a sunset. Imagine my surprise then, when I discovered that the best location might be right on our roof!

 

 

Jan 14, 2011. 3:47 PM. EST.

Canon EOS 7D

ISO: 200, 118mm, 1/320 sec, f/3.5

Lens: Tamron 70-200mm

Lightroom 3: Minor brightness/contrast adjustment.

2 responses

  1. Another beautiful shot. I may have to rethink my current approach to photography, and simply emulate you.

    January 15, 2011 at 10:45 AM

    • Ha! You are being too kind, Van! And besides, I love the things you shoot and what you do with your photos when you process them! We just have different types of skills, which is what makes photography so interesting!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      January 17, 2011 at 8:35 AM

Leave a Reply

