Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Hobby

 

It’s a really good thing I’m not trying to make a living as a photographer because I stink at knowing what conditions produce the effects I most want to shoot. Yesterday (when this picture was taken) I decided to get outside no matter what the early morning sky might do. We’d just had the snow storm to beat all storms and I was dying to shoot something … anything. Fortunately, the sky gave me a little color. Not much, but a touch of contrast at first light.

 

This morning it’s brutally cold …. as in single-digit cold. Given that I don’t do well with extreme temperatures, I decided to sit this one out. Besides, (I reasoned) I thought today’s sunrise would be comparatively similar to yesterday, which wasn’t anything to write home about. So I was sitting here tweaking my blog entry for today when I glanced out my office window and saw the entire horizon was a deep crimson red. For crying out loud  …. will I ever get anything right???

 

I know the first “rule” of landscape photography is Be There.  For some reason I still manage to screw that up more often than I care to admit. And since I tend to overlook the first rule, I’ve had plenty of  “just missed it” moments to know better than to try to race outside and capture a shot that’s happening RIGHT NOW! However, being the fool that I am I always seem to want to gave that the old college try. Tell you what. Next time you think you have all the time in the world, try beating a New England sunrise. My camera and tripod were all set up and ready to go. All I had to do was throw on two layers of clothes and race out the back door. Five minutes, tops, but by the time I got out there the entire show was done.

 

Yup, I don’t call this a hobby for nothin’!

 

Jan 13, 2011. 7:57 AM. EST.

Canon EOS 7D

ISO:160, 18mm, 3.2 sec, f/22.

Lens: Canon EF-S18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS

Lightroom 3: Brightness/contrast adj.

PS5: Warming filter

 

 

3 responses

  1. Great post and nice photograph.

    January 14, 2011 at 8:40 AM

  2. The moments are fleeting, aren’t they? I love this photo, though. Despite the subject matter, it looks soft and inviting. I can only imagine how bitter it must have been standing there.

    Keep plugging, because you’re good.

    January 14, 2011 at 10:20 AM

    • It’s been pretty cold for shooting this last week or so. Sometimes it’s hard to stay motivated to get out there real early when you know how bitter it’s going to be. Sure, you’re only out in the elements for a little bit, but I really struggle to shoot wearing gloves. In this kind of weather your fingers can’t stay exposed for very long without losing all feeling … which doesn’t’ help either! But sometimes you just have to bite the bullet and do it. Fortunately, on this day it was worth it!

      Thanks for the kind words, Van!

      January 17, 2011 at 8:40 AM

Leave a Reply

