Just another rambling fool at WordPress.com

Stormy Weather

All puffed up and no place to go!

 

I’m going to try to get out and take some pictures. We’ve gotten about 22″ of snow since 1 AM, which makes me wish I had snowshoes! I should have gotten a pair last year when they went on sale at the end of the season. (Note to self: remember that in March when they go on sale again!) It’s going to be rough going with so much snow on the ground. Even the birds are struggling!

 

 

Jan 12, 2011. 11:43 AM. EST.

Canon EOS 7D

ISO: 200, 200mm, 1/160 sec, f/5.0

Lens: Tamron 70-200mm

Lightroom 3: Crop, minor contrast/brightness adjustment

8 responses

  1. Cindy Wiech

    would even be tough with snowshoes with this fluffy deep snow…nice shot !

    January 12, 2011 at 12:41 PM

    • Well, you’ve got that right! But it’s really rough going on foot out there today. I thought I might try going “down back” to get some photos, but it was WAY too deep to try to navigate. I decided to plant my tripod right where I was and even then the snow was at least 3″ above my knees!

      Thanks for dropping by … stay warm!

      January 13, 2011 at 9:53 AM

  2. Michelle

    So cute!

    January 12, 2011 at 12:41 PM

    • 🙂

      Thanks for taking a peek!

      January 13, 2011 at 9:53 AM

  3. That’s a great shot of the plucky little bird standing firm in a snow storm. Only thing I’d do differently is try to intensify the brightness and saturation of the bird, make it pop out more against the harsh environment.

    You’ve got a natural eye, Cheryl.

    January 12, 2011 at 12:50 PM

    • You’re right of course, Wayne! Good call! Glad you posted your thoughts … I always appreciate critiques and tips!

      January 13, 2011 at 9:55 AM

  4. Great picture! hope you did have gloves…. 🙂

    January 12, 2011 at 3:18 PM

    • Well … no. I have a really hard time working my camera with gloves on. I need to try to find something I can wear that fits really well and isn’t too slippery. Most winter gloves are too bulky to be much help and then I end up frustrated because they’re just one more thing to try to hang onto while I’m shooting. Yeah … I’m such a rookie. Sheesh!

      I took a quick peek at your blog … there’s some very nice stuff there! I’ll have to take a more in-depth look in a bit. Thanks for dropping by CurTales!

      January 13, 2011 at 9:59 AM

Leave a Reply

